We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Tuscaloosa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel would have received all fives from me if we had not had a bad experience checking in. We have a 10lb dog, they hav e a $75 non refundable pet fee. That's to much. Also they freeze the amount of your room on your credit card. I do not approve of that. Not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. We are glad you found our hotel and your stay “very clean” as you entitled your review. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for sharing that information with others.

We are so happy you were able to bring your dog along on your trip. As all Candlewood Suites are Pet-Friendly hotels, we encourage travelers to bring their pets along. We take pride in our hotel and we want every guest to feel at home. With that in mind, we also must consider future traveler's with pet allergies. We take precise measurements to be sure that each pet-occupied room receives a thorough deep cleaning after each departure. We sanitize the entire room including the walls, floors, carpets, curtains, bedding, and all furniture using only the best environmentally-friendly cleaning products. This process takes several hours, several team members, and costly chemicals, thus the reason for the pet fee. Since this fee is a “cleaning” fee, the charge is the same no matter your length of stay or number of pets. This process helps our hotel maintain our standards of cleanliness, which thankfully is recognized by guests like you.

You mentioned a “freeze’ on your credit card. We want to assure you that this process is not a “freeze”. It is simply an authorization taken upon arrival to ensure that each guest has the means to pay for their room. Otherwise, it is possible that at the time of departure, a guest may not have funds available to ensure payment for their stay. This is the reason for the authorization on your credit card and a common standard at all hotels, which we hope you understand.

Again, we thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    12
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
12
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Candlewood Suites is, in my opinion, the best hotel to book if you're going to be in Tuscaloosa. It's nothing fancy, but it's perfect! The staff was super nice and always there to help if we needed anything. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but the beds were comfy! My only concern was the bathroom. It's probably just a personal preference to me, but I need an updated bathroom at all times. This one looked a little outdated.

Even though this hotel has some negatives, I'll still stand by my word that this is the best hotel in Tuscaloosa. When you take cost, location, and amenities into consideration, Candlewood Suites will come out on top!

Room Tip: We stayed on the highest floor and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for telling everyone that we are the best hotel in all of Tuscaloosa! That is quite a compliment. Being #1 on Trip Advisor is an honor we are quite poroud of. Tha you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel staff were really kind and friendly. They even called once we got to our room to see how we liked our room and if we needed anything.The rooms were very clean even had a kitchen in them. This was useful because we stayed for five days. I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel always smelled so clean and fresh. I have never stayed in a hotel that smelled so good. The service was excellent. The staff were all so kind. The rooms and lobby were beautiful. From now on, when I come to Tuscaloosa, this is where I want to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I love to hear that our hotel smells so nice and clean. We value your feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to out niece's graduation from University of Alabama in December 2012. . We liked having a kitchen to cook in and all the comforts of home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.We wanted to stay there again in May, but the hotel is so popular, we could get the 7 rooms we needed. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy your enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that we don't have availability for your next trip to Tuscaloosa, but hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying at this hotel. The staff was warm, friendly, and welcoming. The room was great! I loved that not only did I have a kitchen in my room but it was also fully equipped with pots, pans, and everything I could need. Having all my needs meet made me feel more like I was home than at a hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the kitchen in your room. It certainly makes life on the road more convenient. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing family-like caring by the staff. Mrs Cheree, ms Elizabeth, ms mary Baxter, ms Kim, Zach,
Adam, and mike all are amazingly helpful accommodating and warm.
Location is wry close to malls, and restaurants and movie theatre. I have lived there for months and the stay was so good that I never go to Hilton's or Mariott again. Great bang for buck

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much! We love having you at the hotel! You have became like family to us. It's guests like you that we come to know so well and enjoy having around so much that make our hotel world fulfilled! We hope you are able to stay around for quite a while! Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 651 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect Superior Service at Our Extended Stay Hotel in Tuscaloosa, AL If you're looking for a relaxing getaway or a comfortable place to stay during a business trip, then drive past the cheap extended stay hotels in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. Our hotel is conveniently located 6.1 miles from Tuscaloosa Regional Airport (TCL) and near Interstates 20 and 59. The University of Alabama and other local colleges offer unique entertainment and attractions for the region. You can visit the University of Alabama's many museums, the arboretum or a sporting event while lodging in our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel. Enjoy the outdoors with a round of golf at one of the nearby courses or walk the nature trails at the Moundville Archaeological Park. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa offers a convenient location for business travelers, with downtown Tuscaloosa, Mercedes Benz, Phifer Wire, DCH Hospital, JVC, BF Goodrich, Michelin, Law Enforcement Academy of Tuscaloosa and Delphi all near the hotel. We also have a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access to help you complete work while traveling. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa makes extended stay travel and relocation easier with amenities like the Candlewood Cupboard, lending library and suites with fully equipped kitchens, 32-inch TVs, work desks and triple-sheeted beds. Book your extended stay in Tuscaloosa with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.