We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football Weekend - Friendly Staff"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Beverly Hills
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Football Weekend - Friendly Staff"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was lucky to find a suitable hotel room on a Bama football weekend for my daughter and me. Had a wonderful contact on the property, Cheree Slaten, who recommended a fabulous restaurant, Epiphany Cafe. We flew on the "red-eye" from Los Angeles, arrived early, and our room was ready. Chip at the front desk recognized me as a Platinum Ambassador, gave us bottled waters, and a love note from the manager, Elizabeth Ashworth. The room was spacious with full-sized refrigerator, comfy beds, very quiet, nice bathroom, and quite clean. The only negative...with a teenager in tow, did miss not having a restaurant/cafe/bar on the property.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet....just asked for a "quiet room away from the elevator".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much! We really appreciate when you tell others about great stays! We hope to see you again in Tuscaloosa soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
12
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights here for a Univ of Alabama home game - I was pleasantly surprised by how neat & clean it was. The beds were very comfy (though I prefer 2 queens instead of 2 dbls). Loved the "pantry" downstairs for forgotten items or a quick snack. Front desk was very hospitable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much! We love when guests take the time to share their great experiences with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've become big fans of Candlewood Suites and try to seek them out if we're staying a couple days or more in any one location. We stayed here a couple nights for the Neil Young Concert at the Ampitheatre and were very pleased with our stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable. The two burner stove is perfect for cooking up a breakfast or light meal in the room and saves the hassle of getting ready and going out. We had been on the road for a week so the free laundry services really came in handy too. The gym is located in the same area as the laundry so we were able to get in a little workout at the same time. The Tuscaloosa Candlewood is very nice and I'd recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! We certainly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and fully equipped kitchen. I am glad you were able to enjoy our free washer and dryer useage and our 24-hour fitness center. We certainly hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Close to I-20. Check in was fast and friendly front desk clerk. We checked in late and she made sure we had everything we needed. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient with eggs, biscuits, gravy, cereal, breads and Danish. Kim, the breakfast hostess, was very nice. She was able to give us some history on Tuscaloosa, directions to the university and was able to talk sports with my husband. Very nice staff and nice looking hotel. Felt like a country home inside with the fireplace and all. Will return if we're back in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Guest feedback is so important!

After reading your review, which mentions specific amenities at the hotel, I am inclined to believe that you actually stayed at a hotel in Tuscaloosa that has a similar name to ours. I say this because the details of the amenities do not describe our particular hotel, but describe a similarly named hotel perfectly. The reason that I am pointing this out is because so many travelers use this site as a booking tool, and we always want to be clear about what our particular brand offers. Our "breakfast" is a bit different than some other hotels. All Candlewood Suites hotels feature a "Candlewood Cupboard", where you can purchase breakfast, lunch, and dinner items that are able to be cooked in the privacy of your own fully-stocked kitchen, located in each and every room.

I see that you are a frequent contributor on Trip Advisor. On behalf of myself and other hoteliers, I would like to thank you for your continued feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Tuscaloosa and hope that you visit our city again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The front desk employee was very helpful and even helped me with directions while i was staying in Tuscaloosa for the football game. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We feel that the level of customer service you receive is just as important as the details in your room. With that being said, I am very pleased to hear that our team was helpful and that you enjoyed your room. We hope to welcome you back for future visits. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here during a business trip and I was impressed how all the rooms were suites. We both really enjoyed the full kitchen and outdoor gazebo area. The free laundry facility was also an added bonus. This hotel has a great and helpful staff and is close to great restaurants (we enjoyed Dreamland). Highly recommend for all travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. All your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this location while on and overnight motorcycle trip. When arriving the lady at the front desk was very nice and accommodating.

When we went to our room it was very clean. The lady at the front desk called after a few minutes to be sure everything was ok. When leaving to go to dinner she made sure we knew the way to Dreamland.

I had to buy some things from the cubbard and had the option to pay or charge it to my room. I did pay the first time, but the second time the front desk was closed so I was able to charge it to my room on the honor system.

I highly recommend this hotel. It was a great experience!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! We really appreciate your feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. As the General Manager, I always appreciate hearing that our staff was friendly and helpful. We certainly look foward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 651 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#7 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect Superior Service at Our Extended Stay Hotel in Tuscaloosa, AL If you're looking for a relaxing getaway or a comfortable place to stay during a business trip, then drive past the cheap extended stay hotels in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. Our hotel is conveniently located 6.1 miles from Tuscaloosa Regional Airport (TCL) and near Interstates 20 and 59. The University of Alabama and other local colleges offer unique entertainment and attractions for the region. You can visit the University of Alabama's many museums, the arboretum or a sporting event while lodging in our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel. Enjoy the outdoors with a round of golf at one of the nearby courses or walk the nature trails at the Moundville Archaeological Park. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa offers a convenient location for business travelers, with downtown Tuscaloosa, Mercedes Benz, Phifer Wire, DCH Hospital, JVC, BF Goodrich, Michelin, Law Enforcement Academy of Tuscaloosa and Delphi all near the hotel. We also have a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access to help you complete work while traveling. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa makes extended stay travel and relocation easier with amenities like the Candlewood Cupboard, lending library and suites with fully equipped kitchens, 32-inch TVs, work desks and triple-sheeted beds. Book your extended stay in Tuscaloosa with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;