We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Trussville

Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Trussville
1660 Gadsden Hwy, Trussville, AL 35235
205 661 3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Trussville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Trussville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've eaten at many different BBQ restaurants in the B'ham area and Jim and Nick's is the best in our opinion. The platters are a little pricey, but no more than you would find at other BBQ places. The onion rings with BBQ sauce is the best app they have and all the meats including Turkey are all good...can't go wrong. I even like their salads with BBQ meat on top. Best BBQ in town and never bad service.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place was recommended to us by our hotel, and we were so glad we took their advice! The food was delicious and plentiful, the sweet tea was flowing, and the service couldn't be beaten. Wishing we had places like this in PA!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Always very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

One of my favorites. BBQ cooked to perfection and the sides "just right." Their salads topped with BBQ are "just right," as are their sandwiches and other BBQ beef, pork, and chicken. Sides are made of fresh vegetables. It is a popular place with frequent waiting lines. Once inside, service is fast.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Stick with anything but the BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great salads, Decent steak, good potatos, good chicken fingers, good catfish, just skip the BBQ.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“YUMMO!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just love this place and, it's food. Service is always good and courteous. My husband does not like BBQ but, he likes Jim 'n NIcks. He loves the hamburgers, chicken tenders and baked beans and, I love the hickory mesquite chicken breast, collard greens, salads and baked potatoes. Jim's cheese biscuits are so yummy too, you can even buy the mix to take home and make yourself. Give this place a try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Trussville also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim 'n Nick's Bar-B-Q Trussville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.