We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty cover on bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Trussville

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Trussville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trussville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5911 Valley Road, Trussville, AL 35173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Trussville
Pikeville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nasty cover on bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here on our way home from New Orleans. The room was nice but there was a very nasty stain on the coverlet at the foot of the bed. We were very tired so we removed it checked out the rest of the bed and decided it was ok. If we hadnt been driving for 7 hours, after 5 days and nights at Mardi Gras we would of complained lol. The desk clerk was extremely nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: Check out the coverlets at the end of the bed I am pretty sure ours was not laundried I have pics I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Connie J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the desk staff. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the stain on the coverlet of the bed. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
9
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FLorida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

25 minutes from Birmingham, HI Express has a center atrium so all floors and breakfast area are open. We had a third-floor King Suite which offered a side "bar" containing sink, mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker but the bar area and storage spaces proved convenient for keeping food and drinks separate and out of sight. The suite provided a smaller than expected seating area. The wedding party chose the hotel with a group rate; the suite was additional. The complimentary breakfast offered hot items varying daily from cheese omelet, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage and gravy. Additional yogurt, milk, bread, English muffins, bagels, and condiments etc. Satisfying breakfast with very good coffee and flat screen TVs.

What I did not like was the smokey odor emitted from smoking rooms on the same floor as non smoking rooms. I requested deodorizer be sprayed in our room which reeked of smoke, especially in the bathroom area, from a previous guest. We were obliged and offered a change of room. With the openness of the hotel I guess smoke drifts and the odor is difficult to avoid other than in the breakfast area. The morning highway road noise is good for waking you up early so sleep quality took a hit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear MaryEllenSelf,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. However, I apologize for the problems you encountered in your room accommodation. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Average Holiday Inn Express. Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The wifi was a little spotty on the Ipad but was fine on the laptop. Light sleepers maybe be kept away by the exit being close to the hotel. Plenty of choices for food nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear cwetz74,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the internet connection of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Check in was fast, front desk clerk was helpful. Hotel is very dated compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Wifi was unreliable. Room was clean and the shower was great with plenty of pressure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Al
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here recently on business travel and thought this hotel met my needs just fine. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The free wi-fi signal in the room was strong and I had no issues with that. The breakfast was free and a little more than continental. The staff was very personable.

The only thing was the person I was staying with could not access the internet on the computer in the business area and there was no one available that knew how to fix it. That being said, if you bring your own PC, the wi-fi works great in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. I usually travel on into Brimingham. The lady at the desk was very friendly. The first room I was given had either been occupied or not cleaned. The second room was better until i got in the shower. The cleaning crew had left shampoo and soap from previous guest and the shower had hairs on the wall. The drain in the tube would not stay open The internet was very slow and the TV channel selection was laim. The only premium channel had no sound. After about two hours in this room, I was wishing I had traveled on into Birmingham.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn at the Birmingham Airport is not bad. I have stayed there many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I routinely stay at HI-Trussville atleast once a week on business travel. The staff always makes sure to accomodate everything I need and if there's ever any problems, they always make sure the problem is resolved. Breakfast is always good, rooms are always clean, and the location is always a plus. Trussville has everything a traveler needs from Wal-Mart to a gym to nice restaurants. I recommend this hotel if you're traveling I-59. A helpful tip for health buffs- when checking into the hotel, request a pass for the YMCA from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trussville

Address: 5911 Valley Road, Trussville, AL 35173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Trussville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Trussville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Trussville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Service And Experience At Birmingham/Trussville Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham/Trussville has the pleasure of welcoming you to Southern hospitality. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff. We are nearby Birmingham City Downtown, UAB and Birmingham International Airport. Our hotel is your best choice for Birmingham Dog Track and Barber Motorsports. We are conveniently located near 1-20 & I-459. Our valued guests have free access to YMCA/health & fitness center next door with world class facilities.Well equipped rooms & suites with room to spread out and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and entertainment at this exit. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Trussville is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to Birmingham/Trussville area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trussville Hotel Trussville
Holiday Inn Trussville
Trussville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Trussville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.