We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at new hotel--OUTSTANDING service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Troy to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Troy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Troy Plaza Loop, Troy, AL 36081   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Troy
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay at new hotel--OUTSTANDING service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for a week due to business at nearby Troy University. I couldn't have been happier. The hotel was conveniently located near a major highway, multiple restaurants, and the university itself. The room itself was clean and quiet (as are most Hampton Inn rooms that I've used) and included a fridge. WiFi was free and easy to connect to. While room service wasn't available, the front desk staff had good suggestions of local places for food. There's also a Ruby Tuesday right up the street from the hotel. The daily breakfast spread was incredibly varied for a variety of tastes. Upon checkout, I was able to use a lobby printer to print my boarding pass with no problems. Parking is also plentiful and free.

Here's why the service was as great as it was: I mistakenly left my phone charger in the room and didn't realize it until after I returned to Colorado. Not only did the front desk manager return my call about the charger, she even offered to drop it off at my office at no charge during her upcoming trip to Colorado Springs! I couldn't take her up on the offer since I needed the charger back for the following week, but I really appreciated that above-and-beyond step !

Only several things to note:
- If you book with Egencia/Expedia, your room may not be paid in advance.
- The A/C in my room worked well...a little TOO well, in fact. Not surprising since you're in the deep South. It can be shut off easily from within the room.
- The hotel may not be easily visible from the freeway as it's about 1000 feet off the road. If you're coming from the north, watch for the Sonic and then make an immediate left.

A tip for those looking to sample the local food: Try either Country's BBQ or Mossy Grove Restaurant. The front desk can provide you with directions.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
18
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Clean! Comfortable, quality you expect with Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Stayed at this hotel attending my son's graduation at Troy University. Booked two rooms for relatives and for the spouse and I. The property was in excellent condition. Room was clean and the breakfast in the morning was really good! Room rate was $84.60 with my AARP discount. Good value for the money! I recommend it highly!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

This hotel is excellent. The property is clean, well-maintained, and appears to be relatively new. Our check-in experience was fast and pleasant, the room nice and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was fine.

Hampton Inn is not a "luxury" hotel, but as a place to stay for a business traveler or someone visiting Troy University, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and good service
  • Disliked — Nothing fancy here, but it's still a good choice
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

hotel was clean, staff was professional, Troy was a great college town to visit (get the nuggets meal/snack at Crows chicken). However, the hotel will not permit you to pay in cash, even if they have your credit card on file

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

This property is excellent - it's one of the newer Hampton constructions built for the hotel chain, and not an adaptation of a former hotel's layout or infrastructure. The breakfast area is spacious and the selection is on the high end of the Hampton free breakfast menu, as compared to our experience with several other Hamptons around the country. The room was fine, everything in working order and the front desk was very accomodating with our request for a rollaway bed.

We hope to stay here again in the future, the price and value cannot be beat in southern Alabama.

  • Liked — new construction, good services
  • Disliked — the city of Troy doesn't offer much for someone passing through
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We had a good 1 night stay here. Room was clean and hotel staff was very pleasant. This hotel is within walking distance of a Ruby Tuesday.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Troy

Address: 103 Troy Plaza Loop, Troy, AL 36081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the downtown square, we offer the perfect home base from which to explore the city, from shopping and dining to historical attractions. It's all here, just minutes from our comfortable Troy hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Troy Hotel Troy
Troy Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.