We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone Down Hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doublehead Resort

Doublehead Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Town Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doublehead Resort
Save
You added Doublehead Resort to your Saves list
145 County Road 314, Town Creek, AL 35672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Town Creek
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gone Down Hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Unfortunately, Doublehead has gone down hill. The rental cabin we stayed in is way overpriced for what it is. Whoever said that it is more like a state park than a resort was right on. After a long-standing tradition, we plan to move elsewhere. We woke up one morning to find a dead mouse in the sink. That did us in.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Cabins were awesome. The rustic look and the feeling of being in the great outdoors with the convenience of being so close to Huntsville. Even though we felt like we were out in the wilderness, the cabins were just as clean as home. The grounds were kept manicured. Horseback riding was a blast and the kids enjoyed themselves more than going to the Gulf this year. We will be back. The staff were pleasant and attentive to all our needs. Will recommend Doublehead Resort to my friends and co-workers. We would love to hear more about upcoming events here in the Huntsville area. I hope they will advertise more in the Huntsville area. This is a great place to visit for a week or a weekend get-away. In a word.............satisfied customer. WILL RETURN SOON...........

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Place was covered in cob webs front and back porch. Windows/screens embedded with insects and cobwebs and filthy so bad you didn't even want to look out at the nice lake view. Trash up under the front porch. Entire outside needed to be cleaned.

Also disappointing was we paid extra to have a late check out on Sunday so that we could go horseback riding. Upon calling at 11am for horseback riding on Sunday, I was informed that the horse attendant had gone on errands and wouldn't be back till 5pm!!!! So in essence you couldn't even engage in that acivity at all that day. We paid extra to stay later just for that reason. I found this to be very unprofessional and lacking of advertised service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Love the cottages they were great. Love the meals that were provided and the kindness and willingness to help out if questions came up. Staff was great at getting everything planned and the conference room was bug enough for us to interact with eachother and have snacks in between time. The children's area was great and alot of space for them to play around with. FIshing was a success and i loved the horseback riding adventure... Overall the place had no complaints from me. For the price that was given for a 3 bed/2 bath, full kitchen, and own deck was not bad. I would recommend this to everyone...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My aunt and uncle live out of town and for two years they have stayed at Double Head during Christmas. They hosted our family Christmas get together there at their cabin and it was sooo nice. She brought in a live tree and when we got there, you would've thought they lived there. It was such a home like atmosphere. I love the porches on the cabins, personal piers, hammocks, etc. We were invited back to have Sunday brunch at the lodge and it was wonderful. Such a beautiful view and you can talk a walk on the deck when you are finished eating. I have also attended a wedding that was held on that deck and it was beautiful. There were very few decorations because there was such a beautiful backdrop with the sun going down on the water. We've also attended a birthday party there and it was so cool with a bon fire and everything. My kids are wanting to go back when it warms up so they can do some more of the outside things. Another thing is we spent the 4th of the July there this past summer. That was an awesome event. Rodney Atkins was the headliner for the night and if you weren't there, then you missed a great show! Thanks to the wonderful Double Head staff for sponsoring such a wonderful event that gave my family some great memories. This is a great place to go for a weekend get away if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. As you can tell, my family has been there many times and we have never been disappointed.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

It was agreat trip. The sun setting on the lake was beautiful. Had a short drive to play golf locally at a couple of really challenging courses. I cant wait to come back this summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Each year my extended family, Grandparents, parents, children and grandchildren, look for a place we can all spend an entire weekend together for our Family Christmas. This year we chose Doublehead Resort and we were NOT disappointed. We had lovely 3 bedroom cabins overlooking the TN river, complete with fireplace. Although it was very cold and cloudy almost the entire weekend, we still had a wonderful time. The staff was really great.
We have several young boys ages 16 to 6 who are into hunting and target shooting. At a short notice, the staff arranged for them to shoot clays, even though it was really cold and damp. We especially want to thank the gentleman who had to stand out in the cold and pull the clays for them, he acted as if he was out there having as much fun as the boys were and I am sure he would rather have been inside where it was warm and dry. He was so very patient with the young boys and showed them all a great time. They are still talking about it , 2 weeks later.
We had access to a golf cart that we rode all over the resort and enjoyed the nature trail from the golf cart, even though it was too cool and wet to enjoy walking the trail. We even saw deer, squirrels, and some beautiful waterfowl.
There was a game room with pool tables, ping pong, electronic games, basket ball hoops.
There was so much more to do if the weather had cooperated , therefore we cannot wait until summer so we can go back and enjoy all that Doublehead has to offer.
Thank you Doublehead Staff for making ours a memorable Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doublehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doublehead Resort

Address: 145 County Road 314, Town Creek, AL 35672
Location: United States > Alabama > Town Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Town Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Doublehead Hotel Town Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doublehead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.