We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingrath Gardens and Home

Bellingrath Gardens and Home
12401 Bellingrath Road, Theodore, AL 36582
251-973-2217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Theodore
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 65-acre estate is most well known for its lush and beautiful gardens featuring azaleas, camellias, and other flowering plants, but the house, built in 1935, is also stunning. It's listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The gardens were very nice and would be spectacular in the spring or summer. The Gardens were not crowded and it was very nice to leisurely walk through them and take the time to stop and smell the roses. The Home tour was interesting and informative and the guide was very friendly and courteous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    67
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When it comes to attractions such as this I am spoiled because I live near the spectacular Longwood Gardens, and most all other gardens pale in comparison. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised with my visit to Bellingrath Gardens. We walked around all of the gardens and trails and it took us 3 hours. We stopped to take a lot of pictures along the way. We did not take the House tour, and the boat cruise was not offered on this day. It was a very nice day weather-wise and we really enjoyed strolling the gardens. We were pleased that even though it is October there were many flowers in bloom. The rose garden was especially beautiful. They were in the process of stringing lights for Christmas, and I can only imagine how amazing that will be, based on the number of lights they are putting up. They have a nice gift shop too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

So peaceful, so beautiful! I wish I could have spent more than 2 hours, but that was all I could do. Go in the spring, fall , or winter. Summer in the Deep South is horrible. I saw the house and some of the garden and wish I could have gone on the river cruise. If I ever win the lottery I want a home a small garden like Bellingrath!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful extensive gardens with a wide variety of plantings. The boat ride was nice and relaxing. The map of the grounds is easy to follow. You can easily spend several hours there. We did take the house tour which was lovely with beautiful furnishings and decorative objects. However, the day we were there they were short on help and rushed us through quite quickly without much of an explanation. One guide became very frustrated with the situation and apologized that we weren't getting a better quality tour. I would love to go back some day when we could spend more time in the house. There is a very nice gift shop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent the entire morning walking through the 65 acres of flowers, trees and water features. It is Oct. but the gardens are blooming everywhere you look. The tour of the house was leisurely with plenty of time for stories and questions. Such a gorgeous place! They were stringing lights for the Christmas season. Wish I could see it then.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellingrath Gardens and Home also viewed

 

Been to Bellingrath Gardens and Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingrath Gardens and Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.