We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flowers everywhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingrath Gardens and Home

Bellingrath Gardens and Home
12401 Bellingrath Road, Theodore, AL 36582
251-973-2217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Theodore
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 65-acre estate is most well known for its lush and beautiful gardens featuring azaleas, camellias, and other flowering plants, but the house, built in 1935, is also stunning. It's listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Starkville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Flowers everywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had visited this place about 10 years ago and it has not changed. We got there at the right time! The azaleas were in full bloom and they are everywhere in the gardens. Though this appears to be a great place for azaleas 90% of the gardens contain only one type which comes in 3 colors. Since there are many types of azaleas I had hoped for much more variety. They do have winter and summer annuals decorating many of the paths.
The house is very interesting and simply very curious. Definitely recommend visiting the house as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    61
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What A Treasure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had spent several hours at the USS Alabama memorial, and had second thoughts about trying to visit Bellingrath on the same day. I'm so glad we forged ahead and didn't miss this treasure! I am a gardener and so the 65-acre property, stunningly abloom with azealas, was heaven for me. But my husband enjoyed it just as much. The home tour provided a nice overview of the history of the property, and the story of Walter Bellingrath and family. The only disappointment was that we missed the last river tour of the day -- have to go back to do that. The admission pricing is nicely structured to allow visitors to choose the options for entry -- gardens, home and river tour. Choose what's of interest to you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A must-see attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The 65 beautiful acres at Bellingrath Gardens and House provide the visitor a wonderful opportunity to view a great garden. We visited when the spring azaleas were at their peak which added to the beauty of the grounds. The gardens were developed during the 1920s by a wealthy Mobile couple. A trust was set up by Mr. Bellingrath to keep the gardens maintained in memory of his wife, who loved the gardens so much. What a lovely tribute. The gardens are not too formal and really enhance the natural beauty of the property. Most areas are wheelchair accessible. Natural artesian wells have been utilized to create fountains and waterfalls. The couple built a house on the property that can be toured too and a river boat ride is also available. We just enjoyed the grounds and also the soup, salad, and sandwich lunch that is available beside the gift shop.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our only regret was that we couldn't spend more time here!!! We paid for the grounds and house tour!! Well worth it! Fascinating tour of the house and learned lots of history!!! But the grounds stole your breath away!!! Even in the winter! We would love to come back at different seasons. They decorate for Christmas and would like to see this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful any time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful place, reasonably priced. Definitely take the house tour this home is filled with relics from the time period, china, silver and beautifully furnishings. Yet the house seems livable not like a story book castle like many we’ve toured. We were there in Feb. and missed the azaleas, roses and they should be beautiful during season.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellingrath Gardens and Home also viewed

 

Been to Bellingrath Gardens and Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingrath Gardens and Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bellingrath Gardens and Home to your Saves list