We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingrath Gardens and Home

Bellingrath Gardens and Home
12401 Bellingrath Road, Theodore, AL 36582
251-973-2217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Theodore
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 65-acre estate is most well known for its lush and beautiful gardens featuring azaleas, camellias, and other flowering plants, but the house, built in 1935, is also stunning. It's listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Christmas Lights are always fantastic!! We love it, and go every year. It gets better every time.

Visited December 2012

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    67
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas 2012 light show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We came from Wisconsin and Illinois and were staying at the Grand Hotel. We drove in Sunday dec. 23 2012. I planned on getting there by 3:30 and it was perfect!!! We walked right in and got our tickets no lines. By 4:00 we were taking the house tour. This house is beautiful any time and the history is very interesting. At Christmas the house is unbelievable it's decorated in it's best Christmas. You will not believe the dining room!!!! Make sure you tour the house very worth it. By 5:00 we started walking around looking at all the Christmas lights!! There is just one word over the top, unbelievable. It's magical you just keep saying wow,wow. At every turn it better and better. Kids, adults anyone will love it and have a good time. We stayed until about 7:30 and I think we walked around 2 times. They have a nice store and area to sit and get something to eat or drink.
Well worth it!!! Would do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Display, including with a stroller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I completely agree with the other reviewers that the Bellingrath Christmas light display is awesome. Two other things not previously mentioned... the path you travel is very stroller-friendly. We had both of our kids in a CityMini Double which is pretty wide and except for the greenhouse we had no trouble navigating with the stroller. As for navigating, one really nice thing about their display is that they have a well-defined path. You really never got into a situation where you had to question "where do I go next?" We went on Saturday December 29th and it was pretty crowded but didn't feel "packed". We parked on the outer fringes of the parking lot and it was only about a 5 minute walk to the main entrance. We'll definitely be back again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights are the best we've ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

During the Christmas season (up through December 31) the gardens are lit with over 3 million lights in the shape of Christmas objects - treews, trains, swans, nutcrackers, santa, etc. We've seen light displays before but this one is the best ever.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A True Holiday Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We first visited the gardens earlier this year and enjoyed it. We noticed that the gift shop was selling postcards of their Christmas in Lights. It looked interesting and we made a note to consider it this December. We decided to visit. Since we live in Florida around three hours away, we decided to visit the gardens, have a nice dinner in Mobile, and spend the night there. Tickets ($13 for adults) were easy to get on their website. We elected to print our own tickets (instead of will call) so we could walk right in when we arrived. The show is from 5-9 PM. We arrived at 5:30; it was truly dark by then. It was Wednesday, December 12th. The parking lot is dark and the rows are narrow. There were not many cars when we arrived, so we parked close to the front. Note: it was more crowded when we left (7:15)--I think families wait until after dinner--and parking/driving is much more conjested up front. You might want to park further out and park so you don't have to back up--it is really dark and people are walking all around. The light show was great! It did not feel crowded, I guess the darkness helped with that. Expect to spend 1 1/2 to 2 hours for a casual walk. Some of our pictures turned out, but you will need a tripod if you really want to go for it. People could walk around with hot chocolate and coffee. It was 37 degrees that night, all we needed was snow! The little restaurant was also selling desserts--pie, cake, etc. It was well worth it, we are so happy we went!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellingrath Gardens and Home also viewed

 

Been to Bellingrath Gardens and Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingrath Gardens and Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.