We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot describe!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talladega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham
3883 Griffitt Bend Road, Talladega, AL 35160   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Talladega B&B and Inns
Granbury, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I spent two nights at this lovely B & B! We pulled into the driveway and Ellen was unloading groceries, she came over and greeted us like we were long lost family! She took us inside where Richard gave us the same feeling. They are the most gracious hosts. Richard prepares unbelievable breakfasts. The best part is sitting at the island watching him prepare them, quite a show! Unfortunately it rained the entire time, so we were not able to fully enjoy all the grounds, just a good excuse to make another trip back, hopefully, in the spring! I just can't say enough about this B & B, you really just have to experience it yourself! They truly go out of there way to see that you have everything you need or want. One morning we were determined to sit on the porch, even thought it was raining & chilly & after about 5 min. Richard came out with me a blanket! :-) Needless to say, we were sad to leave!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ellen and Richard, the proprietors, were gracious and provided a wonderful get away for us. They welcomed us to join them in watching football, then recommended a fabulous restaurant for dinner. We returned to enjoy one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The breakfast Richard cooked to satisfy our gluten free needs greatly exceeded our expectations! Their home is lovely, warm, and inviting....just as they are.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really enjoyed our two night stay. Highlights were the hospitality, food and access to the lake. Be careful getting into the tall beds. Very comfortable once you are in. The location is a bit remote so it takes some travel time from Birmingham.

Room Tip: We took a quick tour upon arrival and it looks like all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First, this has been an AMAZING weekend and experience! This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and it want be our last! :) from the time we arrived we felt at home! Richard and Ellen are two of he friendliest people. I must add that Richard is an unbelievable cook!!!! And Mrs. Ellen is an amazing artist. It is absolutely beautiful here and very relaxing. If you want a relaxing, romantic and home atmosphere this is the place.

Room Tip: Garden Room is beautiful and has private entrance :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights and were treated to the best breakfast we have ever had at a B&B. Ellen and Rich the hosts are very warm and friendly, welcoming you into their home. Rich being the chief, was very entertaining while cooking for us in the big open kitchen. The room was great with a wonderfully restful bed. Our only wish was to have had more time to spend and enjoy the lake. Maybe next time we will bring the kayak and go exploring. Bring your camera, if you are an early riser, because the sunrise over the lake is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed at several B&Bs and this one thus far is the best! From the beautiful location on the lake, to the warm and inviting home of Richard and Ellen, you will never feel like a guest in their home. The delicious breakfast was priceless; Richard cooks with the spirit of a professional chef. I so enjoyed the morning conversations and the breakfast was not the run-of-the-mill, from the freshly baked scones to the shrimp and grits and on the last morning we had the pleasure in tasting his French Toast casserole. Words truly can’t describe the food and the total warm atmosphere. I plan on going back! The bed was the most comfortable one that I have ever slept in!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Off the beaten path but worth the adventure! Unfortunately, we were unable to meet Ellen, but will try again next time. Richard was a perfect host and the most awesome cook ever! You've never had shrimp and grits like his! And he shares recipes! Loves to talk! Is multi talented and a joy to be with! The place was beyond expectations and then some. Spectacular views. Fun golf cart ride. Even a cat that lies about being allowed inside! Don't believe her! Comfortable bed. Temperature controlled to your liking. Will definitely consider revisiting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham

Address: 3883 Griffitt Bend Road, Talladega, AL 35160
Location: United States > Alabama > Talladega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Talladega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lake country setting with modern conveniences. Food is traditional country breakfast to gourmet lick your lips twice. Beds have been reviewed as best sleep ever. Hosts are warm and friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Rest Bed and Breakfast - Birmingham to your Saves list
;