We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pursell Farms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pursell Farms to your Saves list
Pursell Farms
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2200 FarmLinks Blvd, Sylacauga, AL 35151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Collierville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Golf trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We took a golf trip in August and stayed in a cabin. We had eight golfers and the accomadations were perfect. Four bedrooms with two large beds in each room along with an updated bath. We had a putting and chipping green right behind our back porch. The golf course was great. We enjoyed the two days of golf that we played there. My complaint was with the food service. They asked us not to bring food or drinks on to the property. We tried to honor that request but found that their food service was not anywhere what we would have expected based on their prices and indications of food quality. The weekend we were there they had a special chili dinner and beer tasting for that Saturday. According to their facebook advertisement they had chili and golf specials but when we inquired about the special, no knew anything about it. We tried to eat breakfast there but found the service was bad. I was served the wrong order and was told they would have the correct order to me quickly. After waiting for over an hour for my breakfast, I had to leave to get to my tee time. These things convinced us not to eat dinner there so we went outside the facility. All in all this was a great trip and could be a top notch resort for many activities if they can get their food issues worked out. It was my understanding that they had just hired a new chef and maybe this was transition pains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Tom,
Thank you for comments. We greatly appreciate your feedback and the invaluable role it plays in our operation. Customer service and guest satisfaction are high priorities here at Pursell Farms, and while we’re thrilled you gave us so many compliments, we were dismayed to learn your F&B experience was unsatisfactory. Nonetheless, we needed to know this so we can rectify it going forward. Not only in general, but specifically for you and your travel partners. You’ll be pleased to know that we are instituting a “country breakfast” buffet, which will eliminate the waiting time for players with pending tee times. This should alleviate any future problems, so we welcome you to come back very soon and try the new breakfast format at the clubhouse. We look forward to having you back at “The Farm” and hope you will report back again.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the amenities and service to the golf itself, you will not find a better destination for a superb golf experience. With the beautiful scenery as well as championship level golf, it's definitely worth the money to play FarmLinks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I, General Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate your kind words, but more than that, we are so pleased to hear about your exceptional experience here at Pursell Farms! Thanks so much for sharing. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at FarmLinks. We are golfers and this is a golfers paradise. We stayed in the homes on Masters Row. Rooms are quads with a shared common area. Luckily for us no one else was in our place for the entire stay. The golf course is pristine. The food was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our waitress told us that they were going to be adding a spa, fitness area, restaurant and bar. These additions will make it more of a full service resort and draw more couples not just intersted in golf.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I, General Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks so much for selecting Pursell Farms as your destination of choice for your recent stay! We're glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your visit with us, and we hope that you will come see us again soon. We are constantly looking at new ideas and amenities and better ways to cater to our guests' needs, and we DO have a lot of wonderful new things in store... and can't wait to share them with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We've done a buddies golf trip every April for the past 8 years. Every year we try to upgrade - more comfortable accomodations, increasingly challenging courses, better service - and this year we experienced the ultimate...Farmlinks at Pursell Farms. From the minute you make the turn through the front gates you understand you are somewhere special. The service is top notch; southern hospitality at its best. We stayed in the Snead cabin and felt like we had arrived at "Man Camp" - personal Club Cars for the week, flat screen tv's, private putting green, big, comfy beds - no details are overlooked. All meals are served in the Clubhouse which feels like a big country kitchen with a porch overlooking the beautiful 18th hole hundreds of acres of farmland. We knew we were coming back next year before we even set foot on the first tee. The golf course is immaculate and challenging without beating you up if you select the appropriate tees. We also enjoyed an afternoon shooting clays before we played another 9 holes in the late afternoon. Next year we'll try some fishing. For this buddies golf trip planner Farmlinks has set a new standard of excellence.

Room Tip: The cabins are ideally suited for groups of 8 so you can all stay together. We had a group of ten wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I, General Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind remarks. It's such a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their visit with us. We certainly do our best to cater to our guests' needs, so it was great to hear that your experience at "Man Camp" exceeded your expectations. Definitely make some time for fishing on your next trip! Hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We could not have had a better time this past weekend at the "A Chocolate Romance" experience. My wife had no idea what we were doing until we walked in the doors and was absolutely blown away! I had been to the facilities before for golf, which by the way, is hands down my favorite golf experience anywhere!

EVERY detail was thought of starting from the time we pulled up. The staff could not have been nicer, and the meal was delicious. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and cozy, and we look forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I, General Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear M/M. Lyvers- Thank you for the kind words about your recent visit during the "Chocolate Romance" valentines event here at the Farm. We will be doing may more special events and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spent Valentines at Farmlinks for their "Chocolate Romance" event and everything was fabulous! The service and staff (Beth in particular) was very accomodating and professional. We especially enjoyed their new chef, Andrea (Andy) as she shared her passion for food during the chocolate truffle class and the special dinner / wine pairing. She is very entertaining! In speaking with the manager, Keith, he shared their ideas of future events to make this a couples destination. My husband also was able to enjoy a round of golf on Farmlinks spectacular course. We definitely look forward to our next visit!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Tgrz,
Sorry for the long delay in responding to your very positive review regarding your visit at our 2013 Valentine's dinner event! We are so glad that you were able to come and to also get a round of golf in while you were here! We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the best trips ive ever taken. Went to Pursell Farms/Farm links on a business retreat/meeting. The facilities were outstanding! Lodging was top notch, the food was great. They really have good customer service. Nice to see a company that prides itself in customer service as well as the overall experience. Oh yeah, the golf course was one of the best ive ever played on!

Room Tip: Ross Cabin was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Pursell Farms, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Jimmy B,
Sorry for the late response to your very positive review regarding your experience at Pursell Farms and FarmLinks! We are thrilled that you had such a good time and we look forward to seeing you again at The Farm real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pursell Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pursell Farms

Address: 2200 FarmLinks Blvd, Sylacauga, AL 35151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Sylacauga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sylacauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pursell Farms 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the number-one public golf course in Alabama 3 out of the last 4 years, and one of Golf Digest's top, national golf resorts, this pristine, 3,500-acre destination is located at Pursell Farms in Sylacauga, Alabama. Here at Pursell Farms, you will experience the scenic beauty of nature, mingled with the rich heritage and friendly warmth of the deep South. From our 7,444-yard, championship golf course and world-class hunting grounds to our one-of-a-kind research and demonstration academy, Pursell Farms is a luxury, full-service resort destination that offers something unique for the avid sportsman as well as for the golf industry innovators and professionals. Come out and visit the farm, and enjoy deluxe accommodations, farm-to-table cuisine and an experience in hospitality that will exceed your expectations. Enjoy an afternoon quail hunt, fish our stocked lakes, conduct a business conference or host a memorable wedding or special event. The options are endless! And at Pursell Farms, you are never a stranger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pursell Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pursell Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.