We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ed's Seafood Shed

Ed's Seafood Shed
3382 Battleship Pkwy, Spanish Fort, AL 36527-9332
251-625-1947
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 restaurants in Spanish Fort
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Out of this world seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate in this restaurant on our way to Florida. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express in Daphne, AL (see separate review) recommended this restaurant. The restaurant has a nautical theme and an extensive seafood menu. Jess, our server was a delightful young woman who helped our granddaughter with her selection.

We ate inside because of the wind and heat, but there is ample outside seating. The view we had was of Mobile Bay with Mobile in the distance.

We were there on a Tuesday evening and got a table immediately. On our return, we stopped by on a Saturday evening and the place was crowded (with good reason). The place is popular with the locals.

Our group had raw oysters, seared tuna, fried scallops, and soft shell crabs. All were wonderful. I encourage you to try it. Travelers need only check with the hotel staff for directions. The place is so popular, most local folks will be able to direct you there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    48
    54
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I ate here at 9 pm on a Wednesday night. The place was almost deserted. By the time we finished eating, we were the only ones in the restaurant, By mid-meal, the servers were busy packing up for the night, which I found quite distracting.

My husband had crab soup and a grilled chicken salad. I had the grilled shrimp salad. Both were decent. Coleslaw was served in lieu of a basket of dinner rolls. The menu said the salads were supposed to be accompanied by garlic bread, which we never received (not that we actually needed it, mind you).

I imagine the view is spectacular before the sun goes down. Since we were there at night, we had a great view of our own reflections.

My husband absolutely loved this joint, so I am sure we will be back,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dont waste your time or money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Crab Bisque had no crab n was soupy; shrimp alfredo had no seasoning n very few
SMALL shrimp, food was overpriced for quality and quantity. if you're a seafood person and not a out-of-towner, don't waste ur money. Atmosphere was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FRESH AWESOME SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stop here everytime we go through Mobile. We make it a point to be there around Lunch.
The fried shrimp and oysters are fried to perfection. Haven't had any anywhere else as good.
You can sit outside and look over Mobile Bay. Very good food and atmosphire.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood with a chance of a gator sighting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ed's serves great grilled and fried seafood. Try the coleslaw. It comes with the meal and is always excellent. There is outdoor seating on Mobile Bay, both covered and open air, in addition to seating inside. The waitstaff is always friendly, although service can be slow. If you are in a hurry, be sure to tell your waiter or waitress.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Seafood Shed also viewed

 

Been to Ed's Seafood Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ed's Seafood Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.