We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close by on Trip Advisor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Oyster House

Original Oyster House
3733A Battleship Pkwy, Spanish Fort, AL 36527-9335
251-626-2188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Spanish Fort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close by on Trip Advisor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Was on way home and like to try new sites. Saw a good review and thought to try it out. Was more impressed by the bar banter and cheese grits than the overcooked stuffed flounder
( stuffed seafood is tough to do cause by the time the stuffing is cooked through,the fish is overcooked). but I tried it anyway and sent it back. The replaced it and I was satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    120
    47
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“"Three meals in a row, and all were outstanding."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After eating at the rival restaurant across the street, my husband and I came to the Original Oyster House and ate three consecutive meals over two days. This place is excellent, and way out-did the one across the street. I got oysters each time, except for the time I got the fried crab claws, fried shrimp, and fried oyster plate. They're gumbo is excellent, and so are the red beans and rice. Each meal was as good or better as the last, and we recommended this restaurant to our friends. It's a much better value, and it's cleaner, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thumbs down on this one!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently visited friends in Fairhope, Alabama and they took us to this restaurant. I ordered the sampler platter and was very disappointed. They loaded it with flounder and crab claws but came up short on the shrimp and what really upset me was there was only ONE fried oyster!! In my opinion a platter should be more balanced it what they offer. Another person in our group ordered the tuna and she complained it was very dry and not tasty. The waitress only brought one piece of flat bread (and there was none on the food bar). By the time the waitress returned with it, we were close to finishing our meal. Nothing for this place to brag about in my opinion, I would not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place has a great menu and served up some great raw oysters and salmon flown in that day! The service was excellent and as friendly as you would expect from an Alabama resident. And the beer was cold, too!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken SC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“yummmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great Oysters, beautiful view of the bay and the city of Mobile at sunset. The service was great. Fast and very friendly. If inn the area again it would be a definite stop

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.