We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1812 Hwy 14 East, Selma, AL 36701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This hotel is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. It is a great hotel. The remodeling since my last stay is beautiful, new carpet is so nice, new vanity and the room is big and clean. The staff was so nice and very helpful, the housekeeper that serviced my room everyday was polite and she made sure I had everything I needed. It is quiet and comfortable. The pool is clean and nice. The breakfast is very good too. Great location, walmart is next door and lots of restaurants close by. I am very happy with these accomodations, they have went well over my expectations. I would recommend anyone that visits selma to stay here. I have decided this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Great job to the manager and the staff for making it such a nice place! The price wasnt bad either with the choice hotel membership. I will definently be back to visit Selma again and this is the only hotel I will stay at.

Room Tip: stayed in room 219, very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best-rest-stay, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out fantastic 5 star review on trip advisor, and repeat stay at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled room, and our staff service. I have shared your comment with my front desk , housekeeping, breakfast, and maintenance staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

We are expecting new choice truly yours bedding in coming weeks.

We're looking forward to providing you the better pleasant accommodations next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great hotel. I will stay here everytime. Good service, great breakfast, nice staff, nice pool, quiet, clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Selma. I travel there often and I stay here everytime. Very happy with it. Price is good as well for the accomodations offered. Close to stores and restaurants, very good location.

Room Tip: good rooms.clean and quiet. had room 214 loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best-rest-stay, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear 585HeatherM585,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your last stay at our hotel.

We had already done some renovation guest room like install new carpet, wall texture, new granite vanity, bathroom floor, and new beds in all room. Second phase we started remodeling lobby breakfast area front desk. Your stay at our property will be more pleasant and comfortable. Looking forward to your next stay. Our team will make our best make your stay happy

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ish Lad
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

So the hotel itself isn't that bad. I know other reviewers rated it poorly, but as a frequent traveler, it wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen. The people were nice, the breakfast was adequate. It was clean. The downside was that the rooms were dark, our's had an odor and our airconditioner required us to wear ear plugs while we slept it was that loud. I have also stayed at the Holiday Inn in Selma and if I return I would choose either the Holiday Inn or the Hampton. The quality of stay is really worth the extra money. The thing is, I can tell the folks at the Comfort Inn are really trying. I just think it was a bit worn down and could use some maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best-rest-stay, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kristinnicole7 ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your last stay at our hotel.

We had already done some renovation guest room like install new carpet, wall texture, new granite vanity, bathroom floor, and new beds in all room, and new air conditioner . Second phase we started remodeling lobby breakfast area front desk. Your stay at our property will be more pleasant and comfortable. Looking forward to your next stay. Our team will make our best make your stay happy.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Ish Lad
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selma hotels

Selma, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As far as the hotel itself goes it was nice, clean and comfortable, but the foreign lady that works the front desk, breakfast and housekeeping I think was her name Tara. She doesn’t speak very good English and she is very rude she doesn’t need to work the front desk. She was running back and fourth to the breakfast she can’t do it all even though she thinks she can, get some help, she doesn’t put out enough for breakfast. I think she’s scared someone’s going to actually eat. She runs back and forth to rooms and SCREAMS very loudly down the hall and her housekeepers and to the man I think was her husband. This lady does not need to work at the hotel if she can’t be more professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Looking at the outside - the motel looked fairly new, not to bad, we booked a room on the apperance we saw - as we went into the motel, walking down the halls - I saw the filth - food on the carpet, dirt, not vacuumed in a while, walls dirty, opened our door and roaches ALIVE - closed door and left - a little kid even said it's the nasty place he has ever seen! This comfort Inn needs someone to clean it up - again Comfort Inn's have gone down hill. At least we got our money back without a bunch of crap.

Room Tip: DO not stay here -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The receptionist was nice but the first room she sent us to smelled moldy and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall. We asked for a different room and it was the same...only didn't smell so bad. If we hadn't been so exhasted, we would have left but we toughed it out for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I booked an online reservation at this Motel back on 12/4/11, for the 3rd of March for one day. I was a participant in the Bridge Crossing Celebration that is held annualy. After I made my reservation I received my confirmation. As I got closer to the date of the event, I called them to make sure they hadn't did anything with my room because I received another confirmation for the same reservation, and I didn't understand that. After being assured that I wouldn't have any problem with my room and they understood I would be checking in late because of my involvement with the Bridge Crossing we ended our conversation. On the night of check-in I went to the Motel gave the clerk [Ronda was her name, I should have known something was wrong when I saw how she spelled Rhonda] my reservation confirmation, only to have her tell me she GAVE MY ROOM AWAY!! She said she tried calling me at my home number the day of the event to see if I was still coming. Can you imagine that?? I had my Daughter and Grand Son with me, with no where to sleep. I refused to leave without her trying to find me some accomadations some where else. She did and of course the rate was much higher than I would have paid at Comfort. To tell the truth I really beleive she was more than happy to sell my room, because I had the room at a Senior's rate.
So those were my expirences, and I wouldn't wish them on any one. Thank you;
Abdul-R Rashid-Atlanta Ga

Room Tip: Don't choose this Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1812 Hwy 14 East, Selma, AL 36701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Selma
Selma Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;