We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Edmund Pettus Bridge

Edmund Pettus Bridge
US Highway 80, Selma, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 attractions in Selma
Type: Historic Sites, Bridges, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Site of "Bloody Sunday" where more than 600 civil rights marchers on March 7, 1965 were attacked by state and local lawmen.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Sadly, the town hasn't preserved this landmark to the extent it deserves. This very narrow bridge spans over a terribly polluted river and an abandoned, overgrown park. There is a lot of graffiti on the bridge and underneath it, by the park. The cars are flying past so quickly that it's a dangerous walk. There's not a separate, designated pedestrian walkway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jones, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Bridge of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was so excited to walk across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Alabama because it is a piece of history, I was lucky enough to have a bit part in SELMA LORD SELMA and walk across that bridge and relive history. I walked across the bridge again behind President Clinton commemorating Dr. Martin Luther King's Voting Rights March. It was an honor! This bridge is a piece of history and Selma has a lot of history!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just a bridge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's a bridge---with a very SCARY neighborhood on one side and a somewhat run-down town center on the other. No good restaurants within miles. (unless you are a member of Selma CC)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Edmund Pettus Bridge is a large part of Alabama's history. Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King walked across this bridge for equal rights for black people on his way to Montgomery . My husband and I took my son to see apart of this history the beginning of November 2012.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Walk It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you were alive in the 60's or ever saw a video, you need to walk the bridge. This is part of our history. No flash and glamour. It's a bridge used today and on which human blood was shed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edmund Pettus Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edmund Pettus Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Edmund Pettus Bridge to your Saves list