We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Selma

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Selma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Selma
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 W Highland Ave, Selma, AL 36701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Selma
Madison, GA, United States
1 review
“room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

the room was very comfortable, my son and both I slept soundly. We had spent the day exploring cemetaries for family. We would have liked a drink with dinner, but could not find an open place with a liquor license. Is Sunday dry in Dallas county? We will return on a weekday next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
10
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graysville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a high quality motel in a rural Alabama town. The alternative motels are older and not in the Hampton league for quality. I was surprised that it was there, but its location on Highway 80 must account for that; still, I was pleased to see the big Hampton sign shining in the night as I came out of the sparse country side to the Selma, Alabama city limits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn in Selma. Hotel clean, room comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast consisted of eggs, Canadian bacon, waffles, oatmeal, muffins, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee. The serving area was large and roomy. Our room was quiet. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will be returning in December.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is very modern and clean for the location. With choices of getting a 3-star or better in Selma, AL being null and void, this is the best choice. I have stayed at several other hotels in the area but the Hampton is the best choice for friendly staff, clean room and a overall modern hotel from the lobby throughout the facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great staff but it is time to spruce up the facility. The young lady at the desk during check-in was the definition of Southern Hospitality. The lobby appeared a bit dated and the elevator moaned like it was giving birth. The cleanliness of the hotel is very good. The lighting is adequate and my family felt safe even arriving at a late hour. Check-out was easy and the complimentary breakfast was Hampton quality with a very friendly staff. Other than the facility being a bit dated, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked two rooms in Selma thinking Hampton Inn would be reliable. In one room the whirlpool didn't work and hadn't for a while. The other was much worse. Only a handicapped room was available which would have been OK if that whole area and especially our room hadn't smelled like a bad nursing home. The clock and the hairdryer didn't work. The elevator wouldn't work, but the staff said sometimes it just stops because it gets too hot. Not wanting to get stuck in the stinky hotel, we carried all our luggage down 3 flights of stairs. They offered a discount because the room was so bad, but my credit card bill just arrived with the full charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel and staff. Easy to find and good location to Marion Military Institute. Very good BBQ Restaurant near by and also other stores. Great breakfast. Internet wifi didnt work til late at night but staff person did as much as he could to resolve. Comfy place would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Selma

Address: 2200 W Highland Ave, Selma, AL 36701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Selma 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selma Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Selma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.