We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Selma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Selma to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Selma
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 W Highland Ave, Selma, AL 36701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Millbrook, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn in Selma. Hotel clean, room comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast consisted of eggs, Canadian bacon, waffles, oatmeal, muffins, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee. The serving area was large and roomy. Our room was quiet. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will be returning in December.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    16
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
10
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is very modern and clean for the location. With choices of getting a 3-star or better in Selma, AL being null and void, this is the best choice. I have stayed at several other hotels in the area but the Hampton is the best choice for friendly staff, clean room and a overall modern hotel from the lobby throughout the facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great staff but it is time to spruce up the facility. The young lady at the desk during check-in was the definition of Southern Hospitality. The lobby appeared a bit dated and the elevator moaned like it was giving birth. The cleanliness of the hotel is very good. The lighting is adequate and my family felt safe even arriving at a late hour. Check-out was easy and the complimentary breakfast was Hampton quality with a very friendly staff. Other than the facility being a bit dated, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked two rooms in Selma thinking Hampton Inn would be reliable. In one room the whirlpool didn't work and hadn't for a while. The other was much worse. Only a handicapped room was available which would have been OK if that whole area and especially our room hadn't smelled like a bad nursing home. The clock and the hairdryer didn't work. The elevator wouldn't work, but the staff said sometimes it just stops because it gets too hot. Not wanting to get stuck in the stinky hotel, we carried all our luggage down 3 flights of stairs. They offered a discount because the room was so bad, but my credit card bill just arrived with the full charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel and staff. Easy to find and good location to Marion Military Institute. Very good BBQ Restaurant near by and also other stores. Great breakfast. Internet wifi didnt work til late at night but staff person did as much as he could to resolve. Comfy place would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Asked for Staff to fix Problem With Toilet 3 Times -- it never was fixed and staff seemed disinterested in the problem. Apparently no one with basic capabilities was on staff until the next morning???

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Exceptional greeting upon my arrival and the accommodations were excellent for our event. I found that the staff was very respectful and helpful during my staff and upon my departure. I really enjoyed talking with them when they were not extremely busy. It is really great seeing the job that Mr. Rufus Ford as done with the Hampton Inn since his arrival. Mr. Ford is very serious about the management of the Hampton Inn and that behavior type is reflected within the staff under his supervision.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Selma

Address: 2200 W Highland Ave, Selma, AL 36701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Selma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selma Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Selma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.