We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thirty years and still average bath houses!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goose Pond Colony

Goose Pond Colony
417 Ed Hembree Drive, Scottsboro, AL 35769
256-259-2884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Scottsboro
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoors
Attraction details
bloomfield, ky.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thirty years and still average bath houses!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My friend and I have been camping at Goose Pond for over thirty years. Some improvements have been made, but they changed the men's bath houses to meet ADA and only have one commode! Not nice to stand in line! We have brought this up with management over the last few years to no avail. I suppose they have so many full time rentals with sewers that they do not see the need to take care of other campers who do not have baths in their units.

One good thing they have done is add a fish cleaning station. Fishing in this area is excellent. Goose Pond campground has a friendly and accomodating staff. I suppose the number of toilets is an upper management issue. Scottsboro is a great town with plenty of good places to eat.

With just a little attention and improvement to the bathhouses this could be a first class campground.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

nice restaurant ! Great prices- we love this town when we come visit relatives in that area

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Docks Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We ate a very good meal at this restaurant in the Goose Pond Colony. We did not see much of the area since it was night time.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We visited Goose Pond camp ground for the first time in early June. We had a total of 6 campers & 8 boats. I liked being able to leave the boat in the water close to your campsite. Very quiet (until we got there) fishing was awesome & Camp office manager was very nice. The fish cleaning station was good as well, plus they take off the fish remains, you do not have to. Not much room for parking all the cars we had, but that's at all camp grounds. Only change I would have liked is larger bath houses, but that's also why I have a camper.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boaz, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Campground is in need of decent management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been several times. The last 2 times (about 5 months apart), the campgrounds have gone down. This time was the worst and our last time. The grass was so high and it just looked overall like a campground on the way down. Plus the price has gone up. Our spot was definitely in need of some TLC,as well as others. Such a shame, I think it is just poor management.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goose Pond Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose Pond Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.