We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoying Italien food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of da marco

da marco
103 east zhu an bang road, Shanghai, China (Jing'an Temple)
021-62104495
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 12,563 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 242 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jing'an Temple
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“enjoying Italien food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its a nice place. Food is quite well, atmosphere is good and prices are really reasonable. I believe it is one of the best value-for-money italian restaurants in town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    87
    41
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here recently and were impressed with the quality of the food and with the wine list. While not as good as you find in Milan, the food and ambience are very pleasant. We had a plate of cheeses and meats as an appetizer, and I had a mushroom pasta special that was excellant. Several people in our party had fish and it was also very well prepared. Portions are large.

As we were leaving we passed a large boisterous group of Italians drinking and talking at the bar - I take that as a vote of authenticity! We've got reservations already in place for our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Atmoshpere, Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place has just celebrated 10 years. Been eating there since the very beginnning and most of the times food is good, generous dishes and friendly athmosphere. Service is lacking like in any big Itlain restaurant. Don't miss !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Original one in the Metro Apartments is still the best one to go to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

They are consistently good! Busy everyday of the week and so it's a good idea to make a reservation. Very popular with expats and locals alike. Be aware that the portions are quite large but it is very good value for money considering the other western dining options available in Shanghai.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really enjoyed this restaurant and I will return on my next visit in Shanghai. At the bar the drinks were good, and for dinner, the food was nice.
It is really popular, so be sure to make a reservation, if you plan to dine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da marco also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to da marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.