We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price for a nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Meilong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Meilong to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Meilong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2359 Yindu Road, Minhang District, Shanghai 201108, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #516 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Lustenau, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Price for a nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel is very clean and a good Service. 60% of the Breakfast is chinese , only small international choice. Rooms are very clean and new. Location is good and Taxi are waiting infront of the building. Quiet Location , if your room is on the backside of the hotel !!!

Room Tip: room of the backside of the hotel is better , (quite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is my first trip to travel to Shanghai and to stay at this hotel. Just wonder if anyone can advise me the best way to travel out from this hotel to the city centre shopping centre?

I am looking for a good spa services and any particular shopping centre to look out for which is highly recommended to go to?

Thank you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hi,

I stayed at this Holiday Inn property in Feb 2012.

Positives: Reasonable Prices, Clean rooms, Comfortable for a night stay,prompt taxi service available.
Negatives: Front desk staff have very limited english knowlege, no wifi in the room, limited eating options at the hotel, far from city center, took a while for the taxi driver to locate the hotel, business center is not great (even basic printing facility was not available).

In and around the hotel you have US equivalent of a strip mall with factory outlet stores, Pizza Hut, Starbucks and few other restaurant (Kotean, Cantonese, Local Chinese cuisene). If you are a vegetarian you will have very limited options, so please be adequately prepared or travel out.

Overall decent budget hotel but with lot of challenges in terms of english and food options.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We (2 colleagues and myself) were booked here for three nights, but only stayed for one... and that was one night too many...

Things started a bit strangely when our taxi driver could not even find this place, even though he stopped and asked at least three people for directions. But since it was across the street from the Nike Outlet Store and next to a Starbucks, we thought it might be okay. Not. From the moment I entered my room, things just went downhill... from the business card for a young lady's "services" slipped under the door, to the sour aroma of a previous guest's vomit in the bathroom, to the lingering odor of ...well, I am just not sure... around the headboard... I just could not wait to leave.

While my colleagues did not have the same issues with sanitary conditions that I did, they were also not too keen on staying, so we moved to the Marriott Courtyard in Pudong for the rest our our trip. Their complaints were the traffic noise (H.I. faces a main thoroughfare) as well as the noise from other guests.

Nothing else to say... pay a few more bucks and stay elsewhere...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Location of the hotel is inconvenient. You will need to take a taxi or bus to get to the nearest subway. Staff is not very helpful and there is no conceirge. They speak and understand very little english so if you don't speak mandarin it will be difficult to communicate with them. I was hoping to find brochures and information on tourist attractions and maps of the city at the hotel, however there were none to be found. Breakfast was complimentary but the food was not very good. Only plus was that the room was clean and big.
I would not recommend staying at this hotel for tourists.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Meilong during a recent visit to Shanghai. I selected it because it was close to the home of a good friend who lived in Shanghai.

My room was clean and comfortable. It pretty much followed the design common to most other Holiday Inn Express rooms I've seen in China. One real big plus ... the weather was kind of warm and the Air conditioning worked well, something that is not always a given in China, even with more expensive hotels.

The staff was helpful and spoke enough English to be able to assist me with most of my needs.

The breakfast buffet was ample, but clearly targetted for Chinese tastes. Very few "Western" selections other than coffee and toast with jam.

Getting to the downtown area involved a short taxi ride (approx 20 RMB) to the Lianhua Rd Metro Station followed by about 30 minutes on Line 1 to People's Square.

If you are arriving by Taxi from either the airport or train station, I suggest you have decent directions written in Chinese. My Taxi Driver from the Shanghai Honqqiao had a hard time finding the hotel, even with a map that I handed him with the hotel and route clearly marked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel itself is clean, well managed, has a nice breakfast buffett. Its also close to a residential area mall (Max Mall) which has 5-6 good restaurants (a hotpot place, a sichuanese restaurant, a cantonese, a hunan place, a korean BBQ, Pizza hut and several others), convenience store, atm etc... The hotel is also near a Korea's Walmart chain -- E-Mart. Lastly the price is super good. - These are the niceties.

However there are several drawbacks if you are a tourist to the Shanghai area. First is the location.. HIE is in a very residential area quite far from Shanghai attractions like Bund. Its about 20min drive to the nearest subway which is pretty much the last but one stop on the line 1. So from the hotel to city center takes 1 taxi and 2 subways and cost you 25yuan and 70-80minutes travel time. So by no means you can do it on a daily basis.. think about it.

Also, the staff speaks very very minimal english which is surprising for a place like Shanghai. People spoke far more english for me in other places like Chengdu, Beijing etc. The internet is the wired type in rooms.. WIFI exists only in lobby but something was weird with the ISP that they only allowed Hotel's own site on my iPhone. THe lobby computer is pretty useless unless you bug the front desk folks to get you a english version of IE or something..

So think through carefully if you are especially a shanghai tourist... If your business is only in or near the Meilong area, this can be a steal

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meilong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meilong

Address: No.2359 Yindu Road, Minhang District, Shanghai 201108, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #516 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meilong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. Just 25 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 60 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 20 minutes from Shanghai South Railway station.Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai is near by famous University in China such as Shanghai Jiao Tong University, East China Normal University and East China University of Science and Technology. It is situated in the central part of Max-mall of which shopping and restaurants combined. Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai shows the international manner of a convenience business hotel. There are 190 smart rooms and 2 full-facilities meeting room. Provide the comfortable, convenience and great value for the business travelers. Express breakfast, free High Speed Internet Access and self-helped ironing room and automats well meet the demands of the guests. Moreover, we are honored to offer our Holiday Inn Express Brand tea sense tea, which can makes the guests enjoying their stay through drinking. The Great room provide high-speed free broadband and kinds of delicious Chinese and western menu to the time-oriented businessmen. Holiday Inn Express Meilong Shanghai harmonious environment becomes the best choice for guest to relax and gather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meilong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meilong Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Meilong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.