We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone Downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Thai - Hongmei

Simply Thai - Hongmei
Minhang District Hongmei Road 3338 Nong Laowai Street 28, Shanghai, China (Hongqiao)
021-64658955
Improve this listing
Ranked #912 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 73 Reviews
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hongqiao
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I have frequented all Simply Thai restaurants in Shanghai over a 6 or 7 year period both whilst living in Shanghai and visiting. The number and frequency of visits suggest they are or were rather good. However, things have changed and what was once attentive and professional service now leaves something to be desired. Not a great experience in terms of being there but the food was ok....just.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

If you wanna taste Thai food you can enoy it in this nice restaurant on the Hongmei Pedestrian street. Food is superb, Tom Yum is excellent and the service ok. This is my favourite spot for Thai food in Shanghai.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“From best to worst Shanghai Thai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Couldn't agree with PhilB more, the Simply Thai of ten, or even 5 years ago set the standard for excellence in Shanghai Thai food. We recently had a delivery meal from there and, even allowing for the inevitable drawbacks of delivery on food quality, very unfortunately, have to say that it is the worst Thai food I have ever had. As PhilB says, this is Chinese with the merest hint of Thai. The slight redeeming factor was that the prawn cakes and Kung pao chicken we're quite tasty, but I'm afraid everything else was very poor indeed. Goodbye Simply Thai, what a pity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Extremely poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We needed to have a late dinner, and Simply Thai website says this restaurant is open until 11 p.m. We love Thai food, so sounds perfect? WRONG. We got to the restaurant around 9:45 p.m. The staff told us that they could not serve any more guests. When we asked for a specific reason since they were supposed to be open until 11 p.m., they could not give any reason. They simply just wanted to close the restaurant early and go home!! They don't deserve our business, nor yours!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Simply Thai - a perfect choice in Hongmei Lu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hongmei Pedestrian Road is a famous entertainment road in Shanghai, with a lot of restaurants of totally different origin (From Indian to Mexican, from Japanes to Belgium food,...), so they are difficult to compare. But "Simply Thai" is one of the very best you can choose.
Very friendly and polite service, an extremely good choice of food, often adapted to the season, and a high level - real - Thai Style cooking.
In Summer I'd prefer to sit outside...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Thai - Hongmei also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Simply Thai - Hongmei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Thai - Hongmei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.