We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Di Shui Dong

Di Shui Dong
Luwan District Maoming South Road 56 2 Floor, Shanghai, China (Huaihai Road)
021-62532689,021-62181476
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 12,562 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 197 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Hunan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huaihai Road
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited the restaurant on Maoming South Road. This is the second time we visited this restaurant. The food is very nice, especially if you like some spicy heat. The 口水鸡 (kou shui ji)(mouth watering chicken) is an appetizer of cold chicken in a spicy red sauce, one of the best I have tasted. We also ordered a shrimp dish (which was quite pricey), even though it was very tasty we found that they were a bit cheap on the shrimps. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    71
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“RIBS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great value for money and cheap beer but the undoubted stars of the show are the ribs! Have them and thank me later!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Human style restaurant worth a visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The food is really nice! Spice and perfect. If you like spicy food this is really worth a visit while in Shanghai. I try to visit every time when i Shanghai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Killer ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very local dining experience with plastic table cloths and food delivered in batches but you won't taste better Hunan food than this in Shanghai. This Mid-South Chinese regional cuisine is quite spicy and uses lots of chillies but they're used wisely adding heaps of flavour rather than just heat and spice. Our absolute favourites are the ribs which are the best in Shanghai by a long way. Service is a bit frenetic, but sit back, relax and let the random delivery of dishes become part of the experience. A great value authentic experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good Hunan food - go for the ribs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Was taken here by friends and had no expectations of the restaurant and what authentic Hunan food tastes like. Not the typical Chinese food I like (Cantonese) but nor was it spicy.

Totally over ordered with around 10 dishes and with only 3 of us eating. Various dishes, three were stew-like heated up by the purple gels - mainly veg but also ordered beef and chicken dishes. The stand out were the ribs - rubbed in spices these were the best part of the meal. The banana fritter was also a stand out of the meal.

Overall, it wasn't too bad, but not great. But if you do go, try the ribs!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Shui Dong also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Di Shui Dong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Shui Dong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.