We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T8 Restaurant and Bar

T8 Restaurant and Bar
No.8 Xintiandi North Part Lane 181 Tai Cang Road, Shanghai 200021, China (Xintiandi)
021-63558999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Description: T8 at your service since 2001 and with an honor T8 has been selected by Conde Nast as one of the top 50 restaurants in the world. It features modern European and cuisine that never disappoints in a chic environment with an open kitchen plus an inviting bar and lounge area,
singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Astonishingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants we've ever visited. Suggestion: try as many dishes as possible, by dispensing with a heavy main course, and sharing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    75
    40
    18
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonding, Austria
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“not really as 'molecular' as expected, very pricy even for Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

For a change we didn't go to our favorite Shintori Null II but tried T8. Well, the molecular tasting menu was very good but not soooo special I would want it again. Once we got started, which took a while, the service was almost too fast, like 1,2,3,4,5 even though we asked to slow down a bit. The service was very well trained and don't get me wrong the food was very food too but just not all of it excellent and surprisingly new. I mean a little foam here and there isn't yet molecular - maybe the name of the menu is misleading. You can eat at Obauer's in Salzburg, were Austria's best cooks before, and pay less. wines out of NZ and Australia are overpriced - they are on the list elsewhere in Shanghai for 20 % less. But I guess if you have enough wealthy Chinese customers ....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great ambiance, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

on a short stay in SH. Decided to check out top TA reviews near my hotel, This was nearest high score restaurant. Expensive even by SH standards but if u r on EU salary, it is totally bang for buck. Ambiance is better than the food, but dont get me wrong food isvery good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very stylish place - average food experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The place is tastefully decorated, beautiful and cosy, located in a nice part of town.
The food did not meet our expectations and didn't matche their high price level.
We were 4 persons and agreed that the food level is just average. Would not recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T8_Shanghai, General Manager at T8 Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Madame Orly

Warm Greetings from T8 Restaurant & Bar in Shanghai

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I’m pleased to read that the design and feel of the place made you comfortable, however I’m sorry to hear that the food did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been discussed with the team and have already been addressed.

We value your patronage & feedback and hopefully I can personally welcome you back in the future to show you that our food matches the level of restaurant that we are.

Wish you a wonderful day
best regards

Walter Zahner
General Manager of T8 Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great dinner!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent our last night in China at this restaurant, and it was great. The service was really good, the food delicious, the prices were fair, and the location of this restaurant is just great. The place is a little bit out of date, but the decor is still very cozy and romantic. It is great to see the action going on at the kitchen. I had the foie gras for entrée, and it was really something. The texture was perfect. The pig belly that I had as main was also perfectly cooked, ans with a crispy skin. The portions are very big. The best would be to share and entrée and ask for an individual main.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T8 Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to T8 Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T8 Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.