We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel with comfort as well as cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of URBN Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added URBN Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
URBN Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
REOPEN WITH A NEW LOOK
Ranked #68 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 377 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel with comfort as well as cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the URBN on a recent business trip to Shanghai. Having previously stayed in the Bund area, this was quite a change but very positive one. The URBN was relaxing, beautifully designed and located in a part of town that ensured you felt the presence of China all around you.

Check was efficient and quick – I was a little surprised we had to pay an extra half day rate for an early check in (11am) but after the overnight flight, we had no choice. The assistant manager greeted us and presented his card should be need anything. This is the sort of personal touch one expects from a smaller hotel.

I loved my room – 17 on the 2.5 floor. While there was no view to speak of, the room was wonderfully desgined – quirky yet highly livable. The sunken tub and the sofa area below the sleeping platform. I certainly knew I was in Asia – this brought personality missing from larger chains. It also allowed for an excellent nights sleep – responsive AC, dark curtains and a brilliant remote control for the lighting.

Aside from the room – breakfast was good. A healthy selection of enticing juices, decent eggs (chef needs to focus on his bland Hollandaise though) and an OK buffet selection. Sadly I didn’t have a chance to use the bar as there was a private event on the night this would have been an option.

Staff were friendly and attentive – more welcoming than some reviews seemed to have experienced. Don't expect much from the health centre - about 4 machine hidden away on the top floor - but not perhaps what you'd expect from a small hotel anyway.

I loved the area in which the URBN was situated – this refurbished fatory neatly fitted just off a bustling local street. Plenty of good eating options near by, 10 mins walk away I recommend Guyi for spicy Hunanise cuisine and Dr Beer next door to it for craft beers.

I look forward to returning. As I say my only gripe was the extra half day rate for early check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Manager, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Richard S,

thanks a lot for your review and extensive feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed most of your visit at the URBN and we are definitely reviewing your comments about the food and early check-in in order to make your next stay 100% enjoyable.

Again, thanks a lot for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to URBN soon.

With best wishes

Sebastian Goldmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    93
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
116
56
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Pros: central location, great looking room.
Cons:
-Front desk girl not friendly at all. No 'welcome to our hotel' or anything like that. Very curt. Just 'passport' and 'credit card', and then handed us our key card. Also, we had asked for early check-in (11am) and when we arrived at noon, our room was still not ready.
-It's not eco-friendly at all, as one might think. Air condition in lobby and room blasting cold air, while doors & window are open.
-Our toilet kept running after flushing, and even after the repairman came to fix it, it still went. We had to shut the bathroom door so we didn't hear it, which was very annoying.
-Bathtub is extremely uncomfortable as it is purely a rectangle. no way to lean back and relax.
-Food at hotel is sooooo expensive. 78rmb for french fries? Also, it took 1 hour for my hamburger to arrive. 1 hour. No excuses for that, and was there an apology? Nope.
-Overall, staff is not friendly. They don't go out of their way to make you 'feel at home'. If something is broken or wrong, there is no apology.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Manager, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear allabouttravel086,

we are very sorry to hear that your stay at URBN did not match your expectations and I would like to apologize to you on behalf of all our team member.

We are taking your comments very serious and we are reviewing the standards and procedures of all areas to make sure that we improve immediately.

Please note that we are currently upgrading the Air conditioning system and therefore we had to run the AC at all times as a stress test.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to URBN and show you what kind of service we are capable of.

With best wishes

Sebastian Goldmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Last March 2014, we had prepared a 3 full days meeting event plus allocation for 12 members of our company coming from different part of the worlds. As we are a company that works in the Hotel Business, we are always on the search to offer a unique experience for all our Board Members to wherever they go. We chose URBN Hotel, this little oasis in the center of Jiang Ang area, as not only for its location if not also for the concept. This hotel is environmental focused, proving some of the best organic food in the city. Daily lunch, personalized customized by their chef Christian, plus the coffee breaks, in which all of the guest were speechless.
Perfect meeting room, adapted to our request as per video conferences, team building, company presentation, etc, and still keeping the feeling of the unique setting in the center of the city.
It was the first time we worked with URBN Hotel and we hope many more will come. Please note the hotel was finishing the renovation period at the moment of the event and still the place was a great oasis. All the staff, from Reception, F&B, Chef and Management, were all focused into details for our guest to have the best experience in Shanghai.
Couldn't ask for more.
Nicholas Bowden, VIPs MEAPAC - Hotelbeds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbnMrkting, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Nicholas Bowden,

thank you very much for your comments. We highly appreciate your support and we are glad to hear that your colleagues have enjoyed their stay with us.
We are looking forward to having you or any of your colleagues staying with us again.

Best wishes

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at URBN last April when Puli was booked solid and found it an ok substitute but not a complete replicate interms of quality. However, the neighborhood hotel remained a charming memory, and we had often returned for dinner whenever we had a chance. This time, our dinner experience was soured. There is a new chef along with new ownership and the crab linguini I ordered turned out to be the most bland mosh of unfresh crab and some overlooked linguini, for 180 yuan. While waiting for food I had a chance to observe the service as well and found that the waiting staff chatting out loudly amongst themselves, appeared to be sloppy and unprofessional. My husband had the view of the open kitchen and said the the sous chefs never stopped checking his iPhone the whole time while he was cooking. When the property had an open kitchen, at least put up a show.
Anyway, this is a grave turnoff, quality of food and service both scored below par. Hard to convince anyone to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

everything went wrong...from unprofessional front desk staff, luggage handling, flooding in room, poor breakfast and restaurant (which used to be good), unpractical room layout, slow internet.....
we checked out and moved to a better hotel...
this used to be a pleasant spot.... not anymore

Room Tip: good luck finding a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I understand that Shanghai is bustling and busy. I understand that people are looking for a quiet place where they feel a bit secluded. And in that sense the URBN Hotel delivers.

But really, is it worth the price? The rooms are nice and reasonable sized. Service is Western standards and everyone speaks very good English. The manager is especially accommodating.

Location-wise, the place is very central (JingAn). If you plan to work and spend the weekend in town, you cannot find much more central location in Puxi.

But on the other hand the food is totally overpriced, the lunch menu passable and the lack of decent bar kills the mood early at night.

I wish they managed to make their nice patio or terrace lively places. It would have countered the feel that too few guests have to pay for too quiet a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant G, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Frederic:

We greatly appreciate the time you have spent on providing us with very valuable feedback. During our current renovation closure, we have been working on creating new food and beverage menus that I hope you will enjoy after we reopen in January. Many other improvements will be made during this time that will still allow guests to enjoy the seclusion you mentioned, yet offer the hotel the opportunity to lend itself to a more lively atmosphere in the common areas.

Thank you,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I understand URBN is under new ownership now and my experience of their service has been lacking.
My last reservation was "cancelled due to renovations" one day before my departure. When you place a reservation anywhere 30 days in advance, they should know how to navigate things like this.
I received no apology or offer to make things right.
I will not be staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant G, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Joe:

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. I greatly apologize for the inconvenience caused by our closing. Originally we had planned to renovate the property without closing but then determined that the amount of work necessary to upgrade our rooms and bring in new features would disrupt our in-house guests. We felt it was in the best interest of our guests that we close for a short amount of time . I'm very sorry for the delay in our notifying you about our hotel. During our renovation, we will not only be improving our physical features, but our guest service as well. We will be holding intensive training sessions with our staff, so that - come 2014, our service standards are upgraded as well.

Again, I'm very sorry, and thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to URBN Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Hotel Shanghai is an award winning design-meets-sustainable chic 26-room boutique hotel built by 100% recycled and locally sourced materials. URBN's downtown location near Jing'an Temple Metro Station is a convenient walk from a myriad of Shanghai's finest shopping and dining options. All rooms provide complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers an on-property restaurant, 24-hour gym, bar and function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your URBN Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage URBN Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.