We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of URBN Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added URBN Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
URBN Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I spent an evening networking on the roof top terrace. It is an incredible location and we felt very well taken care of. Very recommendable! If you are looking for a nice, clean and professional place to stay in central Shanghai, then this will be perfect for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear CK:

We really appreciate your review! Thank you! I agree - I think our rooftop terrace is pretty incredible. To be up looking over old Jing'An lanehouses with newer skyscrapers ahead really does feel special.

I hope you will return again for another event soon, if not as a hotel guest!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    101
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
123
57
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have been there for an event and everything was organized perfectly. The location is super clean, modern and has super nice stuff. Will be there again soon in early 2014 and stay there a some nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Alexander:

Thank you very much for commenting on your experience with us. We very much look forward to having you as a hotel guest in the New Year!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I visited for a conference and was thoroughly impressed with the design, service, and food at this hotel. A gem of a building tucked away in a quiet Shanghai street with an interior that easily makes jaws drop and a rooftop that does the same. I would have loved to stay the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear WM11:

I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel design! I only wish you had been able to stay with us, as I think our rooms really solidify the fact that our design really is something special (but I'm not biased or anything...!).

Next time, please do think of us and stay with us. We'd love to have you!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I attended an event with 80 people on the rooftop. The atmosphere was amazing and the view was supporting it even more! We had amazing food and the drinks where just as I like them. Really good place to mingle and get to know new people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Benjamin:

Thank you so much for your comments! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself on the rooftop. It is a really wonderful space to see a very special view of Shanghai!

I hope you will return to our hotel in the future!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We hosted an event here for 80 people on the rooftop. It was magnificent, and the events team made every effort to please us and our guests. They really went over the top with backup preparations in case of weather, and were nothing but accommodating for our last minute and somewhat demanding request. In particular, the event coordinator Lan Hu is in absolute delight to work with. Always prompt on replies and happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Adam:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself at the event Upstairs.

We love Lan and are so fortunate to be able to have her as part of our team.

Please let us know if we can help in any way in the future!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow- what a unique Shanghai experience. I really liked this hotel. Very slick with some interesting business people staying there, making it feel you are in the creative business centre of the city. I only wish I had more time to enjoy it as I was working long hours. Beautiful wood floors and fixtures, large rooms, great lighting design..and then the city lights and Shanghai skyline from your window. It's not a 'homely' hotel, but it's a very cool one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ibeenthereandthere:

Thank you so much for writing a review for us. It's really too bad you weren't able to spend more time exploring Shanghai and less time on work while you were here. Hopefully you will find yourself returning to Shanghai sometime soon and have more free time to discover and experience the many amazing parts and people of Shanghai!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great - and affordable - hotel in Shanghai. It's just a few blocks from Plaza 66, and the much more expensive 5-star hotels nearby. They have a great program with a local gym, which makes staying healthy (no small feat in China) a lot easier.

A huge breakfast buffet, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sean:

Thanks so much for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our gym partnership with OneWellness (great job working out while out of town! I'm terrible about doing that when I'm away from home...), and that you liked our breakfast offerings.

Please think of us in the event that you return to town!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to URBN Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Hotel Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Hotel Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant, beergrdn, which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your URBN Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage URBN Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.