We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of URBN Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added URBN Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
URBN Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
REOPEN WITH A NEW LOOK
Ranked #63 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and really loved the hotel. It is a great place to stay, the staff are friendly, and the food is excellent. I also found the surrounding neighborhood to be a fantastic place to begin exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    92
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
115
55
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love staying here. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and lovely. There is a place to work, room to do pilates, and a soaking tub with a view. The staff is friendly and helpful. The outdoor dinning area is a great place to relax, read or people watch. You may occasionally spot a celebrity!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at URBN for about 5 days and have no complaints! The hotel was beautifully designed, clean and modern. The service was excellent!!! I only speak English and had no issues communicating with any of the friendly helpful staff whom were very accommodating. I came straight from a business trip to Japan and was very happy to find out the bed was actually comfortable and linens were nice! The free breakfast is also an added perk. The location was great also, being a tourist I was easily able to walk around to shops and or get a taxi right by hotel. I would definitely recommend URBN hotel for your next trip to Shanghai!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Emily:

I'm so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us! We loved having you! Even though you were here for business, I'm glad you got the opportunity to see some of the sights as well. You made some great purchases!

Next time you come back, I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here and recommend the hotel without reservation. The design and attention to detail are amazing. I saw another review and they called it an oasis and I could not agree more. It really does feel like you are stepping out of an urban metropolis into a quiet secluded garden. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed in URBN twice so far and each time , I was very pleased with their service.
People are very friendly and everyone goes out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
The location of the hotel is excellent but very quiet.
I highly recommend this hotel if you travel to Shanghai.


grandma

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My work brings me to China twice a year, during which time I will call URBN hotel for at least 2 weeks continuously. It's easy to like a hotel after a few nights of stay, but it takes another level of hospitality to entice this wary long-term guest to return here year after year.

This is one of the most quiet hotels I've ever stayed in, and trust me, it's quiet. The walls, compared even to 5-star JW Marriott's, are much thicker (because this place was built with solid old bricks), making your neighbors' TV/shower/singing sounds completely inaudible. It also block out the sounds of cars and people, which is critical, because URBN is in the heart of Shanghai's Puxi downtown. It's just a stone away from the Jade Temple and one of the largest shopping malls in the city. The noise and sight of this bustling city will hit you the moment you step out of URBN's wooden gates, but inside it's truly an oasis.

There less than 30 rooms, which means the staff will get to know you quite well. During my stays here, they not only learnt my name, but also my breakfast preferences, my many DHL deliveries, my frequent train ticket purchases, and midnight calls from my office in LA. They took care of me not as a guest, but as family, with a genuine warmth that's quite rare in China.

The rooms, though not the most spacious, are very well-designed to give guests more storage space than most 5-star hotels. There are drawers and cabinets beneath the sofa, behind the headboard, everywhere you don't expect but come to appreciate once you discover them.

The food at Downstairs is lovely because it's not your standard routine hotel food, which often times lacks character and taste. Here the scrambled eggs are not uniform each morning, nor is the Greek yogurt, but that's exactly why they taste like a meal and not just fuel.

I had reservations writing this review because I fear if more people discover and enjoy URBN, then less chance for me to get my favorite Garden view rooms, but it's just hard to hold one's praises for such a loving and lovely place.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family stayed at the URBN in the autumn of 2012. While there were some loose knobs here and there, and the floor was creaky in places, the room was awesome and you could really get a historical sense of being in China by the use of all the recycled materials from a variety of sources. It made the experience well worth it. The bed was extremely comfortable. The courtyard outside was awesome for dinners, and we enjoyed the breakfast and the sunlight that was streaming through as well. The internet was on and off, but I expected that...I have recommended this little oasis in the grimy city to many friends, and found that one of them already knew about it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Erik:

Thanks so much for your feedback! The staff and I are often struck by how amazing it is that we are able to work in such a historic, beautiful place, and I'm so pleased to hear that you felt similarly.

I am very sorry to hear you encountered issues with the WIFI. However, I'm happy to let you know that we're currently upgrading our internet services. Our WIFI will be moving at lightning speed!

Again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Nagoya isn't very far - I hope to see you and your family again very soon!

Best,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to URBN Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Hotel Shanghai is an award winning design-meets-sustainable chic 26-room boutique hotel built by 100% recycled and locally sourced materials. URBN's downtown location near Jing'an Temple Metro Station is a convenient walk from a myriad of Shanghai's finest shopping and dining options. All rooms provide complimentary WiFi. The hotel offers an on-property restaurant, 24-hour gym, bar and function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your URBN Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage URBN Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.