We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of a Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1018 Changning Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200042, China (Zhongshan Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #51 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Part of a Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This beautiful hotel was an unexpected delight. We were with a tour group on a trip to China and this hotel was one that was selected by the tour. The room was new, large, and well appointed with great views. The bar had a happy hour that was enjoyable and reasonable.
As we were on a tour and the bus picked us up each day, I cannot comment about the location, but it didn't seem to be too far by taxi to the Bund or other attractions. I suggest you ask the concierge about the taxi prices before leaving, and have them write out the address of the place where you are going on a card to give to the driver.

Staff is attentive and competent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    238
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
37
41
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Traveled to Shanghai with 3 other family members. We booked 2 double rooms. The front desk upgraded one of the rooms for us just because. We got a free breakfast each day and internet was included in our rate. The rooms were impeccably clean and the bathrooms nicely appointed. The hotel has great views and the staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and guiding us around the city. I cannot say enough about the great location of the hotel. Subway line is in the same building and the adjoining mall offered many food options. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

That was my biggest issue with this hotel and I refused to eat in the hotel since my first breakfast. I pointed the caterpillar out to the waiter who swiftly removed the bowl from my table without any acknowledgement or apology. Unacceptable. It is not the most convenient location for tourists. Design is modern. Didn't like the pillows. Concierge are very helpful and speaks good english - the only saving grace. For the price, there are a lot of other better hotels in Shanghai at better location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is located in the bustling area of Shanghai with subway station nearby. The building is integrated with a multi-storey shopping center where you can try different Chinese cuisines.

The hotel starts from 25th floor of the building, therefore you get good views of the city from guestrooms, and also from their bar & lounge.

Staffs at the reception are very nice, professional, and efficient.

I have visited this hotel several times, their rooms are very clean and nice, but the one I stayed in recently has one obvious design deficiency; it was a double bed, there was not enough space for the chair between the bed and the table, I needed to squeeze myself in.

One more thing they need to improve, I asked for a tequila at the bar, the girl did not know what was it.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms might have the problem I had with the chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I travel frequently to China for business, and often find myself in Shanghai. Whenever I go, I always insist on staying at this wonderful hotel. I have never had a bad stay, or even a bad night-the rooms are gorgeous, the beds are comfortable, and the view is incredible. The service staff is very friendly and speaks English more than adequately, and the location is right by the Cloud 9 mall and subway line. The club lounge is very nice, although I have seen better, it's more than adequate. And the breakfast... oh the breakfast. The make pancakes with Nutella baked into the middle. Can you imagine how amazing that is? It's divine. Go here, enjoy every last bit of it!

Room Tip: If you have the means, get a corner suite... beautiful views of Shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my first time to Shanghai and my first time staying at a marriott property ever, and I must say it was a very good experience. We arrived at arround 6pm to the hotel and check-in procedure was very quick, we also been asked if we wish to upgrade and we agreed, please note that the upgrade is not a special price, it's just the additional amount for the club rooms, but we thought that for what we get it worth it (You get breakfast and dinner, free internet and free access to the lounge on the 58 floor).

The club room is very big, clean, and has all amenities you need. Both meals are served in the lounge. The breakfast has a variety of food for westerners and easterners, The dinner offers Alcohol drinks as well.

The internet was a bit slow in the room, but the access to the business center compensates, as you have better speed and of course a printer (to print travel tips or your boarding pass).

The reason I don't give this hotel a score of 5 is because it's that although it has a metro station of line 2 outside the hotel (a main metro-line in Shanghai), it is a bit far from the main attractions for tourists, so any time we wanted to go out we had a little bit long metro ride.

Room Tip: Higher floor, east side, has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel at the center of Shanghai. Good location and direct access to underground station. Excellent views from the top floor cafe-bar. Whether you are a traveller on holidays or staying in Shanghai for business this is an excellent choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel

Address: No.1018 Changning Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200042, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest Renaissance hotel in the world, a striking 60 storey building with a spectacular Sky Lobby on the 25th floor, 672 guest rooms offering panoramic views, innovatiive restaurants and over 1,800 square meters of meeting space including a 1,250 square meters ballroom - one of the larsgest unobstructed ballrooms in Puxi. Located directly above Zhongshan Park Metro station and only 18 minutes from Hongqiao Airport, this landmark hotel is visible from virtually every part of the city. Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel is an iconic new destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.