We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bar, excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea & Co

Chelsea & Co
No. 1 Yueyang Road/Fenyang Rd, Xuhui District | Where Yueyang Road Meets Fenyang Road, Shanghai 200031, China
+86 21 6051 0659
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 33 Reviews
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: French, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chelsea & Co. Is a contemporary take on a Euro Bistro Bar concept offering a refreshing and reinvigorated new choice in Shanghai bistro dining. While creating a comfortable yet chic dining and bar experience, the heart and soul of Chelsea & Co. Comes from an honest delivery of straight-forward customer focused service and handmade and home-cooked dishes using only the finest fresh, imported and seasonal ingredients and products.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool bar, excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice bar/bistro in a convenient part of town. Excellent food and a good choice of reasonably priced wines. Cool atmosphere with good music. A great place for catching up with friends or to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Rob V, thank you for taking the time to write a few words about Chelsea & Co., guest feedback is important to us.
We are happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere, food and wines and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly a very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you live in Shanghai, you know that restaurants, bars, cafes, clubs, lounges, or what have you come and go faster than the speed of light. There is a saying if you can last for 7 months, you must be doing something very good.

I was walking around the neighbourhood with my friends when we spotted this restaurant. It look bright and inviting, the decor is simple and very bistro-esque.

We really enjoyed the food. It was the right size, the flavour was lovely, and the price is right. Atmosphere was relaxed and when it's not too hot outside, there is a patio. The menu is simple and my friends and I believe that this simplicity is the key to Chelsea & Co being able to deliver. No need for fancy and outrageous menu. Just good, simple, honest, unpretentious French food.

On a side note, waiters' skills can be polished a bit more but overall they provided good service.

We surely hope Chelsea & Co. survives and last long because we will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear NLY39739, When we set out to plan Chelsea & Co., we aimed to create a neighborhood bistro offering simple, unpretentious, tasty French food and deliver straight forward honest customer service.
We are delighted to hear your experience came very close to that, as we continue to iron out some creases in our service. I look forward to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Chelsea & Co. in the course of more visits to come.
Sincerely, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food - great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This is really a find, a charming and friendly neighborhood bistro with good food and even better atmosphere. The beef wellington was a clear winner! Definitely comming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Eljorge5277, It is always helpful to receive guest feedback and we thank you for taking the time to do so. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our services as well as the atmosphere at 'your european neighborhood bistro' and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours truly, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful in all regards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location, charming decor, and simple unpretentious delicious French food. This is my kind of bistro. A great bar, super affordable wine list, and all the classic comfort food dishes you expect from a solid French Bistro. Chelsea & Co. has become our new 'local' in Shanghai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear David F, Our sincere thanks for taking the time to say a few words about your experience at CHELSEA & Co., and we are delighted to hear you were so pleased with the food, wine list and atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming back to your new 'local'.
Kind regards, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great new joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Refreshing new french bistro in Shanghai. Unpretentious yet great food and service. Must try to steak frites and the basil lime drink!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Leo Y, Thank you for your recent visit to Chelsea & Co. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the steak frites, indeed a true bistro classic. The basil & lime house creation cocktail has proven to be very popular also! and very refreshing with this summer heat!
Thank you agin for taking the time to tell us about your experience, your comments are very valuable and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea & Co also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Chelsea & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.