We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy on budget and great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment to your Saves list
Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.2288 Zuchongzhi Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201203, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai) (Zhangjiang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #621 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Easy on budget and great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

in flat 30 mins u r at the hotel from PVG airport. The hotel has never disappointed me so far in last 6 stays.

Negative - A typical smell in the room. not good but not bad aswell. its strange. but within minutes u stop noticing it..
A bit away for those who wish to go to down town. however a metro closeby is convinient.

Positive - Large rooms with peace. nice and large bathroom with modern fittings including a tub.
fixtures, furniture and the decore is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We appreciate your comments very much and I have shared the information with relevant departments to improve our service. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Mini Kitchen for cooking available with extra payment!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
773 reviews 773 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed here as my company office is located nearby, which is in the middle of nowhere. The view is nice if you enjoy construction. The toilet is quite large with a standing shower. The room itself is average, and the CRT tv is a technological letdown. The free internet somewhat redeems it. The breakfast is less than stellar in terms of choice and quality. The chinese restaurant (long string beans and fried rice) and western grill (chilli gumbo and caprese salad) food during dinner were ok. The spa was of poor standard - cracked floors and little massage skills

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We appreciate the information very much and I have shared your comments with all appropriate departments to improve our service.

Howard Johnson hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai is located in the middle of Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Park, close by Metro Line 2 station (5mins walking distance) which offers an easy access to all major tourist and business locations in Shanghai.

Thanks again for the detailed commentary and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The hotel is very nice although not close to anything unless you have business out in that area. The rooms are fairly big, with excellent beds (firm, not hard) and well maintained. Nice furniture, a few carpet stains, but nothing major. Strangely, the TV is old style CRT - must be the only new hotel in China with old TVs. There is a little kitchenette, but no supplies or utensils. Outstanding bathroom with large shower stall (side by side with tub) all glass enclosed - see the pictures. Fluffy towels and a view through you room out over the landscape makes for a pleasant experience. Lots of construction around the hotel, so that view is not going to last. Nice amenities including razors, toothbrushes etc in addition to good quality soap and shampoo. Free internet, hard wired, not wireless - the speed is acceptable, but not impressive. The network allows VPN connections. The hotel is located out of town, and super quiet at night. Also, there are no noises from other rooms. The staff speaks some English - and is generally helpful and accommodating.

The metro station Guanglan Road (line #2) is a 5 - 7 min walk away, and will take you to Pudong airport or downtown (in about 30 minutes). Check the website http://www.exploreshanghai.com/metro/ for details. Fare to downtown is about 4 - 5 RMB (distance dependent). The metro is clean, fast and safe, and there is a train every 2 - 4 minutes. Crowded during rush hour, but hey, you are in China.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We appreciate your comments very much and I have shared the information with all appropriate departments to improve our service. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel 3 times during the past two years - a total of about 20 days. Every time the service has been superb, the rooms fresh and clean.
I don't believe there is anything really interesting within walking distance, but the Subway stop is pretty close and you can hop on the train and be in downtown (Lujazui or People's Square) in ~ 20 min.
The restaurant located in the lobby is pretty good - they have excellent breakfast buffet with asian or american food. During lunch the restaurant gets crowded because lots of people from the nearby office buildings come for lunch. Dinners are usually very quiet- the menu includes european and asian specialties.
There is also a nice coffee and pastries place located in the lobby.

The staff is very courteous, they try to help in any way possible.

The rooms are excellent - size and decoration. Make sure to check the pictures on their web site.

I am going back to Shanghai next month and I will be booking Howard Johnson again...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed there for two nights on a business trip because our company is nearby. In comparison with other upper class chinese hotels this is one of the best I have seen so far. The service is forthcoming and very good over all. Staff tries to help you wherever they can. Rooms are spacious and very clean. They provide free WiFi. The breakfast is also ok. It's bit far out and taxi drivers from the city sometimes have a difficult time finding the place, so it's a good idea to keep the receptions number in your phone and let them explain to the taxi driver how to get there, as the plain chinese address will often not do the job.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. Please keep us posted on your next visit to the great city of Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

What a nice hotel. Americans should not confuse it with Hojo standards in the States. This is US Marriott or higher standard.
Beds are typically Chinese firm, but not torturous. Pillows soft, rooms big, bathrooms big. The staff are friendly and efficient.
The only drawback is the location, which is the middle of nowhere. Even if you have meetings nearby, as I did, you might be better off elsewhere as there are no restaurants, shops, taxis, or anything within a mile that I could find. So, if you like to wander and see the local sights - there aren't any.
I will recommend it, but only with the warning that you better have business nearby or you will spend your life in taxis getting to the China you thought you were visiting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. Please keep us posted on your next visit to the great city of Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment

Address: No.2288 Zuchongzhi Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201203, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhangjiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai is conveniently located in the heart of Pudong, Shanghai, close by Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, and Lujiazui CBD. Right on Metro Line 2 stop, you have an easy access to all major tourist and business locations in Shanghai.Fitted with 275 spacious and elegantly designed guest rooms, 4 Chinese and international dining and beverage outlets, more than 1000 square meters of function and meeting space, full size gym with swimming pool and SPA facilities. With our professional team, we will help you to get things done on your terms.As a part of Wyndham Hotel Group, backed by more than 70 years of hospitality experience worldwide, we are determined to exceed your expectation for all your travel, dining, function and meeting needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.