We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If really Enjoy Old Chinese Alleys! Got your place in Shanghai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 648 Reviews
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If really Enjoy Old Chinese Alleys! Got your place in Shanghai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We could not choose better! If you really want to walk in old Chinese Hood thru alleys and old markets with vendors and shop!! You want to be by Yu Gardens (hotel just Changed hands ) Its like being in Soho (NYC) right on the edge of center.....the staff is zippy, the food is great, breakfast dimsum is tasty....limited but tasty.....

bring our binoculars.....spectacular roof views from the bar....terrace...

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the Yu gardens....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    255
    53
    15
    3
See reviews for
76
152
52
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

2nd time in Shanghai in 3 months but 1st stay @ Renaissance Yu Garden for my wife & I..
Our plane (China Eastern Airlines) was delayed 5 hours from Hong Kong!
We were a bit worried but when we rang the hotel about our delay, we were very
pleasantly assured that our room was guaranteed and we can check in anytime at all.
We finally got to the hotel exhausted@ 2:30am!
The staff were very courteous and friendly and understanding. The check in was no fuss at all.
our bags were brought to our room in no time.
We were on the 11th floor with stunning view of many famous buildings including The Pearl,
Aurora Building etc.
The room was very bright and clean and pretty big for Asian standard. We opted for 2 king singles in our room and they were very comfortable. The air conditioner worked perfectly.
The bath room was spacious and very bright (easy for my wife to put makeup on) and it has
a stand alone bath tub! Love the rain shower head.
Our stay included breakfast daily. International standards which was great.
Everywhere we turn, so many friendly staffs greet us warmly. Opening doors, asking what
they can do to assist us (without being pushy), really made us feel welcome.
The location of this hotel is great too. Right next to Yu Garden. Metro line is just across the
road. Many market stalls right behind the hotel. Taxi at the front of the hotel private entrance...
We promise to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is now one of my favourite hotels, here's why.

1) All staff are friendly & inviting, particularly the concierge team.
2) Room spacious & clean
3) Location, walking distance to the Bund, Nanjing rd, shopping & Yu garden.
4) Pool & views spectacular.

Dinner buffet was not good value (the only sour point) but after a hot and busy day in shanghai, we were too tired to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Right from check in to check out, we had no concerns or issues.
Firstly the location is great, it was closer to the metro than I thought it would be, but it is also very easy walking distance to major sights like Yuyuan Garden, the Bund and Nanjing Road.
The room it self was lovely and we had a fabulous view over the Bund. The bed was super comfy, with great pillows, we slept so well!
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, it had a good variety. We loved the dumplings.
The staff were friendly and spoke very good English, we could not fault the service.
If I were to return to Shanghai, I would definitely stay at this hotel. I also highly recommend it to other travellers who want to see a variety of sights whilst in Shanghai.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location. The hotels communal areas and rooms are decorated to a high standard and provide all needed amenities. The bedrooms air conditioning unit was my only gripe as it was just too hot and didn't seem to cool.

The breakfast is a must, the best I had during a two week trip around China. The choice was endless and it changed daily. I ate room service and snacks during my stay and these were average at best. From checkin to checkout the staff were all friendly and polite.

The hotel offers excellent access to the subway with line 10 just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was the third time we stayed at this hotel and we'll be back. Great comfortable rooms, nice piano bar and a great roof top bar with amazing views at night. Loved being near the old town and not far from The Bund and YU Garden. Staff are very friendly and helpful feels like home to us. Highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel facility itself is quite nice. It is very conveniently located within walking distance to the Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, The Bund, and touristy shopping. It also has a fairly nice and well-equipped gym. I was surprised however to find that the staff was very consistently snotty. Everyone has bad days, but the staff here seem to be having daily bad days.

Although I live in a hot climate and spend a great deal of time outdoors, I found the room to be somewhat hot and humid. I asked for this to be addressed and was told that it was. It wasn't and the room remained a bit damp.

The food at this hotel was expensive, and the breakfast buffet was about $33. Laundry services were likewise somewhat excessive, and a soda from the minibar was about seven dollars. However, there are certainly alternatives readily available just outside the hotel.

One of the things I generally enjoy in Asian travel is the friendliness and kindness of those that work in the hotel industry. This place was an exception, and I could not even get assistance in carrying my luggage from my room while checking out, although I had requested it. Instead I was greeted with laughter when I brought it down myself to check out. I simply would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#218 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.