We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A faultless hotel with great service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #30 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A faultless hotel with great service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I can find no fault with the Renaissance at Yu Garden. We have traveled extensively through China over the past six years and have stayed at numerous hotels in various provinces, although this was our first visit to Shanghai. I can say enthusiastically that the positive reviews on this site are not misleading. The Renaissance is located ideally in old town Shanghai and in walking distance of the Bund and even the French Concession or the Nanjing shopping street for these with a bit more stamina and time. The entrance on a side street just off Henan Rd. South is a bit unassuming but the hotel rooms, the lobby and reception area a few floors up are modern, well designed and well appointed.Our room was spacious, very clean with a great view of part of the old town as well as the Bund. The bathroom was also up to date and clean. Some have complained about inadequate Wi-Fi in the room. We did not find this to be a problem , although there apparently is a charge if you are not a Marriott Reward Member. The small problem that we had initially in accessing the internet was rapidly resolved by one of the hotel staff who appeared within minutes after our inquiry. One factor that clearly differentiates this hotel from others that we have stayed in in China is the exemplary service provided. All our requests were promptly and professionally attended to by the concierge or the front desk, from obtaining train tickets, making restaurant reservations, banking issues, postal problems, travel issues, etc. The hotel staff at the Renaissance were by far the most efficient, cheerful and professional we have met in our travels in this nation. It is really hard to place a value on such service. And yes, English is spoken by many. I would also highly recommend that you seek out Mr. Morgan Zhang, the chief concierge, if you have any need for services provided by the concierge desk. Mr. Zhang is a consummate professional as well as a very charming fellow. We immensely enjoyed our discussions with him about China and the Chinese character in English as well as our broken Mandarin.Since we had reserved our room through the internet at rock bottom rates,we were not entitled to breakfast nor were we willing to pay the relatively high price for a buffet we had no interest in. However, an authentic Shanghainese breakfast can be had for 10-20 rmb just a few blocks away in the small shopping complex adjacent to Yuyuan Garden ( a bit redundant since yuan means garden). Make a left when you exit the hotel and follow the small alley that takes you for a block or so through an older residential area. Cross Houjia Rd. and take a small jog to the right where you will pick up another small street that will lead you into the shopping complex of tourist oriented stores. In one corner of the courtyard you will find eateries that will fulfill your breakfast or luncheon needs. I would try the one on the second floor which is essentially a large room with a number of concessions lining one wall, serving all types of dim sum as well as congee ( rice gruel or soup ). Just walk down the row and pick out what you might want to try, pay the cashier, and enjoy. After breakfast, the whole area is worth a look if you are interested in scoring a few tourist nicknacks or if not then head for the Yu Garden, which is one of the more beautiful Chinese gardens we have seen, including those in Suzhou. While you are in the area and if you are interested in purchasing either Chinese, Japanese or Tahitian pearls, head to Pearl City, a block away. This is by far the best place to learn about pearls as well as to buy some and not get ripped off by scam artists. The ladies on the second floor were patient as well as helpful. Getting back to the Renaissance. As mentioned previously, this hotel enjoys an excellent location to explore the older areas of Shanghai. In addition, it is located just across the street from the Yuyuan metro station on line 10. If you do not care to walk to Nanjing Rd., just hop on the line 10 metro and take it up one stop to the Nanjing Rd. East station for 3 rmb, or change to line 2 and take it to People's Square, or etc. The Shanghai metro system is a true wonder and a great resource to efficiently and inexpensively visit almost any part of the city. At times it is faster than a taxi, especially for longer trips when road traffic is heavy. As the hotel is located in the old town of Shanghai where the Chinese were principally confined during the concession era, take advantage to explore these old streets by foot before they succumb to the wreckers ball. Shanghai Old St., a tourist oriented walking street two blocks south, is worth a look. A bit further to the south west is Dongtai Rd. which is also closed to traffic and filled with stalls and small shops selling stuff that seems to have been liberated from grandma's attic. The markets around the latter area reflect a China from times past and are rapidly being overtaken by modernity, so take a look-see before they are gone. If you walk down to the Bund make sure that you stop by the New Heights at 3 On The Bund on the 7th floor for a drink and a fantastic view of Pudong across the river from the outdoor terrace. All in all ,we truly enjoyed our stay in the Renaissance and will be looking forward to a visit in the future when we return to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view toward the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    222
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
65
125
41
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is such a treat!
Loved the spacious, elegant room, the fabulous fitness centre and enjoyed the amazing location which is right next to the yu-garden.

The club floor was a great plus, with some of the best sushi I've ever tasted. The restaurants and service was top notch aswell.
5-stars. loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed this hotel for one night last week. The hotel is located next to Yu Yuan Garden which is very popular with locals for its famous foods and scene. I was upgraded after I checked in since I am gold at Marriott. The room is very large and comfortable. The view is very nice, we can see the bund and Yu Yuan garden. The staff are very kind and ready to help. We took the buffet for breakfast and lunch. The variety and quality are very impressive. The only negative thing is there is no wifi signal in our room. Only wired internet is available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is my first weekend in Shanghai and I was very pleased with the location of the hotel. It's just steps from Yuyan Gardens, and not to far at all from the Bund. Other places were an inexpensive taxi ride away. The breakfast is a really good mix of Western and Asian cuisine.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice bedding and lots of pillow, which I love. My only "complaint" if there is one is the lounge area is uninspiring. Given the location of the hotel, I would have expected something on the top or near top floors so you could eat/drink while soaking in the views. It's pretty uninspiring, compared to what is possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After whirlwind visits to Beijing and Xi'an, this hotel was just what we needed. Clean, comfortable and up to Marriott standards. The variety of breakfast options, both Chinese and Western was terrific and delicious. The staff everywhere were most accommodating whatever the need. The lobby which looked out over both modern Shanghai and local hutongs also had some wonderful music played by two lovely women, an erhu and zither. The dinner menu is also quite good if you are too tired to go out after a busy day sightseeing. Within walking distance to some fun shopping. This was booked by our tour co., not sure about price for room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Renaissance hotel. It's very well located in the Yu Garden area. The service was impeccable and the public rooms are very luxuriously appointed. We were greeted by our names and a recognition of our Elite status. We also had access to the Lounge with its magnificent view of the city. The food and drink provided in the Lounge had both Chinese and Western choices with excellent service. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Everything was luxurious and top notch at this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had newly acquired Gold Elite status which got us a room upgrade and free WiFi. The hotel was lovely and the service was fantastic. The lobby/bar area has an amazing view of the city - with a very prominent view of the World Financial Center right in the middle. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of both Chinese and Western foods. The close proximity to Yu Garden was convenient for us as it was one of the places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#267 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.