We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #27 of 3,977 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is such a treat!
Loved the spacious, elegant room, the fabulous fitness centre and enjoyed the amazing location which is right next to the yu-garden.

The club floor was a great plus, with some of the best sushi I've ever tasted. The restaurants and service was top notch aswell.
5-stars. loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    275
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
86
165
58
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed this hotel for one night last week. The hotel is located next to Yu Yuan Garden which is very popular with locals for its famous foods and scene. I was upgraded after I checked in since I am gold at Marriott. The room is very large and comfortable. The view is very nice, we can see the bund and Yu Yuan garden. The staff are very kind and ready to help. We took the buffet for breakfast and lunch. The variety and quality are very impressive. The only negative thing is there is no wifi signal in our room. Only wired internet is available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is my first weekend in Shanghai and I was very pleased with the location of the hotel. It's just steps from Yuyan Gardens, and not to far at all from the Bund. Other places were an inexpensive taxi ride away. The breakfast is a really good mix of Western and Asian cuisine.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice bedding and lots of pillow, which I love. My only "complaint" if there is one is the lounge area is uninspiring. Given the location of the hotel, I would have expected something on the top or near top floors so you could eat/drink while soaking in the views. It's pretty uninspiring, compared to what is possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After whirlwind visits to Beijing and Xi'an, this hotel was just what we needed. Clean, comfortable and up to Marriott standards. The variety of breakfast options, both Chinese and Western was terrific and delicious. The staff everywhere were most accommodating whatever the need. The lobby which looked out over both modern Shanghai and local hutongs also had some wonderful music played by two lovely women, an erhu and zither. The dinner menu is also quite good if you are too tired to go out after a busy day sightseeing. Within walking distance to some fun shopping. This was booked by our tour co., not sure about price for room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Renaissance hotel. It's very well located in the Yu Garden area. The service was impeccable and the public rooms are very luxuriously appointed. We were greeted by our names and a recognition of our Elite status. We also had access to the Lounge with its magnificent view of the city. The food and drink provided in the Lounge had both Chinese and Western choices with excellent service. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Everything was luxurious and top notch at this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had newly acquired Gold Elite status which got us a room upgrade and free WiFi. The hotel was lovely and the service was fantastic. The lobby/bar area has an amazing view of the city - with a very prominent view of the World Financial Center right in the middle. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of both Chinese and Western foods. The close proximity to Yu Garden was convenient for us as it was one of the places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As a frequent traveller to China, it is fair to say that most hotels i have stayed at have lacked a service driven mentality. This hotel, and in particular the Guest Services Manager(?) Stephan were absolutely on the ball always! Most of my needs were pre-empted and the attention given in the lobby and dining rooms was attentive without being intrusive. Will make this my regular hotel from here on in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#194 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.