We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TANGED OFF. FILTHY, RUN DOWN, INEFFECTUAL STAFF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Great Tang Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Tang Hotel to your Saves list
Great Tang Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4339 Bao'an Road, Anting, Jiading District, Shanghai 201814, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #970 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
ENGLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“TANGED OFF. FILTHY, RUN DOWN, INEFFECTUAL STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived and joined the queue at check-in to find that the staff conveniently don't speak any English. They smile at you sympathetically as you get frustrated and then gabble at each other and point a lot. This continued the weekend of trauma and laughter. Trauma in that we had to sit for three hours to get a room that was prebooked but not ready. Hmm, eventually they invited us up and it ... wasn't ready as in it was filthy with dangerous broken tiles in the shower, Room #1008. We marched down to reception to ask for another room. Taken to Room #2002 a suite, wow!!! No I think a Government Minister had been in there due to the mandarin left on the window sill with it's green bloom of mould. Everywhere was filthy and there were bite marks in the pillow by someone with a mouth full of brown stuff. The spare bed in the 'lounge' was actually two mattresses stacked above each other. Frayed to the hilt and the staff began to strip the beds, then they went around and found more dirt without me spotting it. At one point there were seven Chinese staff in the room. After much shouting and yabbering at each other, we were taken to room #1902. Still filthy but the beds were clean. I was told that there was muck but it was on the windows - on the outside. I think that David Copperfield must have been there cos when I touched the windows the muck moved to the inside, now that's magic! My son took great delight in showing me that you can move from the bedroom through the lounge, study area and into the bathroom by travelling along the windowsill, so much for privacy and security!
We joined our friends for a drink in the bar to watch the taped Qualifiers of the F1. Stupid kid decided to walk between the projector and the screen despite there being signs there. When asked to stop the child I was told that they would... they didn't. I ended up having to approach the mother to tell her that the child was her responsibility and there could be a big accident. Luckily the child spoke English and translated to his mother. My parting shot was that he had better sit down on his chair and be a good boy and eat his tea. Boy and mother behaved after that.
We then moved into the Buffet area, what a joke, pineapple halves with potato salad in them will not feed a hotel and they were very slow at topping up the portions. We chose the pork chop, daft choice, although it looked medium cooked, inside was dry as straw, awful.
That night the bed was hard so no sleep, TV in bedroom but not in lounge. No coffee sachets or tea given either.
After the fiasco we were given a plate of chopped fruit, no thanks.
Breakfast was obviously an early rise as very little sleep was achieved so I was looking forward to a 5* breakfast. What did I end up with??? Beans on toast! Orange juice was a no no - it was Tang! Trades Descriptions Acts were completely null and void at this place.
We met up as a group in the bar to find that a tray with half a cup of coffee and a glass of water was still left on a pedestal under the stairs. When I queried why it was still there after 23.5 hours I was informed it was there as an idea to guests to order stale coffee and a dirty glass of water. No signs inviting you to purchase. Then again the bar didn't and couldn't inspire you either. Each and every bottle of the back shelving was empty with a thick layer of dust. Whisky which should be deep brown in colour was empty, Bombay Sapphire gin which should be bright blue was empty. If you wanted Tsing Tao or Coke you had to point at it in the fridge. Defies the point of having wine lists. I foolishly asked for a cocktail and ended up having to point at the Coke in the fridge, the barman couldn't manage a Shirley Temple as in the cocktail list.
This hotel is nothing but a joke but it is near the F1 track.

Room Tip: To be guaranteed a good room stay at a different hotel or even a hole in the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    67
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
7
4
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel solely for the proximity to the F1 circuit. We read the reviews on here after we made our booking. On the plus side the hotel is very convenient for the circuit. The staff were helpful, spoke English and were able to help us book a cab that cost 17 RMB, very cheap, just about $3 USD. It would probably be a 30-40min walk. The hotel offers a shuttle bus, one way to the circuit for 30 RMB per person which is less economical. Getting back from the circuit we were approached by several taxi drivers offering a rides from 50 - 100 RMB. A bit of haggling soon got a more reasonable price of 25 RMB.
On the negative side, the place is very tired and dirty, and the beds are very hard compared to most western beds and quite uncomfortable. We were put in a twin room, in spite of us booking a king and both beds had well placed springs sticking out and into our backs.
I read the reviews that mentioned the poor wifi and that was true for us. No wifi in our room and only intermittent in the bar area. The bar area was also very cold whilst our room was uncomfortably hot. Turning the temperature down in the room made no difference, the fan still blew warm air. We chose the buffet breakfast the first morning and it was pretty average, although there was lots of choice.
On balance, I would not stay here again, even though it's so close to the circuit. Metro Line 11 is right at the exit of the circuit and could not be more convenient. I would choose a better hotel close to the Metro. This is more of a 2 star hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

stayed here as part of competition win after being spoil at the capital one the Tang was a let down the grounds are stunning but as you go into the lobby & beyond you can tell its been a long time sine money was spent on this hotel our room was cold draftily damp & musty smelling decor was ok but was a little perturbed by the door as its security was not the best other odd feature bathroom is linked to bedroom by glass ie only a curtain to cover your modesty ok if sharing with partner but if sharing with a roomie bit odd some had curtains some did not bathroom not quite as clean as could be. staff ok food ok no western choices appart from egg toast & sausage also seemed out middle of no where

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I travel to shanghai with family. Shanghai great tang hotel is a big one hotel. Located in Jiading District. Far away from Pudong airport about 60 km. Far away from Railway Station about 35 km. It convenience if you drive car more than take public transportation. A lot of breakfast buffet and good testy.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The location of it is abit far from central.
Was told it is a 5 stars hotel but it has been years.
However, everything is still fine for me.
I stayed at 31th floor with pretty good view.
Like to sit at the sofa to watch TV in room.
Free wifi in room, but signal not good.
Suggest to have separate hand-hold shower sprinkler head for showering.
Breakfast is so-so. Not as yummy and just same variety everyday.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel very old. Very far from city. You cant find any restaurant here. Only local small BBQ stall n minimarts. Dirty town and nothing much. you can try the Chinese restaurant in hotel lobby. Food taste ok and reasonable price. Don't waste time to check around outside hotel, I can said... Nothing much !! I won't

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Arrived in Shanghai Airport at 10pm.. After the immigration check out plus an hour ride, we arrived at the hotel right at midnight..
Check in was quick, considering we're traveling with 30 persons.. It took 15 minutes.. But could be faster, though..

Asking for wi fi password, and thank God, the staff understands a little bit of English and gave me the password..
*note that almost everywhere in China, people don't like to talk English much, even they capable of it!*

Then we arrive on the room.. It was big!! With a big and comfortable bed and duvet.. They also have English channels on the tv..

The downside will be the bathroom.. There's no dedicated space for shower.. So you have to get shower inside the bathtub.. And the water pressure was not that good too..
Breakfast was mediocre.. Some are even tasteless.. Coming from Indonesia, which has a very tasty fried rice, i can't call the "buttered rice" they serve as a "fried rice", unfortunately..

This hotel is located almost outside Shanghai, nearby the F1 circuit or something like that..
No sightseeing places around.. So if you arrived by yourself, try to find another hotel, since it will take at least an hour cab ride from the airport..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Tang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Tang Hotel

Address: No.4339 Bao'an Road, Anting, Jiading District, Shanghai 201814, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #970 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Tang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Great Tang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Tang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.