We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Haiyatt? Really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haiyatt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haiyatt Hotel to your Saves list
Haiyatt Hotel
No.99 Qinjiang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200233, China (Caohejing Development Zone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #460 of 3,924 Hotels in Shanghai
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is a Haiyatt? Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I've stayed many times at the Haiyatt in Chang An and many more in Haiyatt Houjie. Those Haiyatt hotels are good, lively, decent quality, good value with good restaurants From that experience, I decided to try the Haiyatt Shanghai. Mistake.

Perhaps going in with a set expectation from other locations of the Haiyatt skews perception a bit. First off - location. The Haiyatt Shanghai is near absolutely nothing. You will be able to access nothing without a taxi. I knew this going in but with experience of the other, vibrant Haiyatt's, I didn't mind - until I got there.

First, my non-smoking room has cigarette holes on furniture and burns on furniture. This isn't altogether the fault of the hotel - smokers have no self discipline.

Leaving the room behind and heading to the restaurant, I was greeted with a completely empty main hotel restaurant that was ala carte menu - versus the buffet offered at the other Haiyatt's. Breakfast was buffet, but a very pale comparison to the other Haiyatt's. Food all around is significantly better at the other Haiyatt's - in fact, I ate only once at the restaurant and decided to venture in a cab elsewhere. If I was in Chang An or Houjie, I would never have left the hotel.

I arrived on a weekend and the hotel is almost empty. The lounge - a very vibrant and fun place in Chang An and Houjie - is empty and dull. In the room, there is a mini-bar fridge, but it is empty - they advised that if I needed anything, I could phone up room service. The bottle of wine on offer in rooms in the other Haiyatt's is no where to be seen here.

The spa swimming pool looks OK. The hot tubs do not work and there is mold at the jets under the water. The mechanism to turn on the hot tub essentially comes off it's hinge revealing a 4" opening into the electrical and circuitry of the hot tub - a bit over 6" from the water. For towels, you are treated to a hand towel - literally and specifically the same hand towels offered in your bathroom. The massage area is a legitimate massage.

I ventured out on a risk and it didn't go well. However, the disappointing part is that my experiences with other Haiyatt's have been so good and this was almost the opposite. If the owner of the Haiyatt is reading, you really should change the name of the Shanghai hotel so people don't expect the same quality as the Chang An or Houjie Haiyatt's. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are much, much better options.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I stayed here as it is close to our office in the Xuhui district in Shanghai. The hotel is a very good Chinese hotel. The location is on quiet street, one block from Yishan Rd, about 1 km from the green subway line - not close to anything - but possible to get downtown.
The hotel lobby is functional, but not elaborate. The rooms and bathrooms are large & well appointed with large king bed, sitting chair, desk with chair, robes, tea maker, water, etc... - with free internet access. The staff are very friendly, and speak English - although not fluently. The breakfast buffet was very good (traditional Chinese) - did see some English/Western offerings, but by far a more extensive & good Chinese offering.
The cost was very reasonable (4 nights for 380 RMB/night including breakfast).

Overall - would recommend if you need to be in the area - good value - and friendly

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I've stayed at the Haiyatt at least 6 times within the last year or so and will continue to stay at this hotel because it is conveniently located near the clients that I visit and because it offers everything that I need at a great value when compared to some of the other western hotels (Westin, Hilton, etc.). I would highly recommend this hotel for business, but it's not a great place for vacationers that expect it to be a destination in itself.
The Haiyatt isn't a western hotel and the staff often struggles to communicate with you in English, but they do try hard, and they do speak enough English for you to get the things you need. Highlights are as follows: comfortable room, bright open lobby, great health club with good equipment and breakfast buffet that offers something to please anyone.
Don't expect the following: anything upscale, staff that is fluent in English, business center, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I chose this hotel because I needed to be in the caohejing area and wanted to go to the company by foot.

The hotel is typical chinese with a foreigner percentage of less than 5%. The deluxe rooms are spacious, bathroom large. Both are very clean.

The furniture lacks the luxurious impression that you get when staying in large western chains but the price is also much bettter. Staff speaks english, although not fluent, which means sometimes it takes a bit more effort for them to understand your needs.

Breakfast buffet was good, gym was nice.

Location is somewhat distant from the action, although there's a lawson convenience store right across the street. Also the room service is reasonably priced so after a long day work eating in the hotel is a good option. The food was delicious and service impeccable.

Overall it is a good chinese hotel witha good price-performance ratio.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haiyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiyatt Hotel

Address: No.99 Qinjiang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200233, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caohejing Development Zone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 3,924 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Haiyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haiyatt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.