We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hyatt on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #105 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning view! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed last week end at the Hyatt on the Bund and this is a place I know extremely well as I usually book a room there during most of my stays in Shanghai. The view on the Bund is stunning and rooms are quite comfortable. Service is great like in all the Hyatt hotels in Asia. However there is a room for improvement as the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment to recover the brightness it had when the hotel opened!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    315
    69
    18
    16
See reviews for
105
165
82
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week, and here are the few things I noted:
1. The hotel is not right on the bund, but a short walk from it. It is on a small road and if you are staying there for business, traffic can get hectic. It could take 30 min just to get out of that little stretch of road in rush hours, so leave early to avoid the traffic. It is a short taxi ride away from the famed Nanjing Road, but it could be difficult to get a taxi in peak hours.
2. I am a Platinum member in their Goldpassport, but they said I can't get upgrade because the type of fare my room was booked in, and I can't get a room higher than 10th floor. They did promise to give me a room with a great view. From my room, I could see the entire Bund. It is especially nice at night when the lights are on, and you can see them go off as well when the time comes.
3. As for the room, the leaving area is a bit small, but the bathroom is very spacious. It is a nice room overall.
4. Breakfast had a nice selection, but one morning, a creepy guy came and sat next to me trying to get "donation". Hotel security came up eventually and got him out of there thankfully.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I checked in the hotel is New Year's day.The hotel gave me a bottle of red wine and a plate of fruit basin,it make me surprise.
I don't know how to open the red wine, call the room service.Staff fluent in English and Chinese are all let me very satisfied.Someone to help me to open the red wine soon.
Everything make me relax and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

every time I come to China I try to spend few nights in this excellent hotel in shanghai with a fantastic view on the bund. personnel is very efficient and kind. rooms are spacious and well clened. spa area is very relaxing. its vue bar on the east tower is very popular with a superbe vue. its restaurants (breakfast and dinners) offer excellent quality food and it is very centrally located to reach any part of shanghai within minutes. it is certainly the best hotel in china and one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: best rooms with the best view are the ones ending with 27-30
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taxenbach, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We loved our stay at the Hyatt - they have an excellent view facing the bund and we just love our time at night to see all of the lovely lights. The food and service is great too and you can not miss their roasted beijing duck~~ Will stay there again as the service is great as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Friends and I stayed for 7 nights over Christmas. Fantastic views of the Bund and Pudong.

Service was excellent. Easy check in and out. Hotel Manager Neil looked after our group's stay and made sure we were well looked after.

Chinese restaurant on the ground floor called Xindalu is a must try, their Peking Duck is the best in Shanghai (and possibly China (having tried duck in Beijing twice this year)), we ate their twice during our stay.

Breakfast buffet at Aroma was good with a wide spread of cuisines.

We were quite demanding on staff and all our requirements were met with a smile. (For example new room cards at 3am since we'd lost ours). No complaints from our stay.

Facilities were excellent with access to pool, gym, sauna, steam room and spa.

Vue Bar is also a must visit with spectacular views of Shanghai.

Room Tip: Try a room on either tower floor 10 and upwards facing Pudong. Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pros:
- Fantastic location.
- Amazing view of the bund and Shanghai gorgeous skyline.
- Professional, courteous staff
- Spacious well decorated rooms
- Fast internet that is actually fast (and working).

Cons:
- Not the cheapest hotel in Shanghai.
- Not super close to a subway station (but there are obviously taxis from the lobby).

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view, totally worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#337 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.