We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt on the Bund to your Saves list
Hyatt on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #88 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 Reviews
LA
1 review
“Amazing Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Where do I start--from the hotel registration experience in a gorgeous Lobby that was most welcoming, efficient and very accomodating thanks to Neil Li, Director of Customer Service and his staff. My room was amazing--comfortable, clean and contemporary design really fit the overall quality of the property and the view breathtaking. While I did not have time to dine in the hotel as much as I would have liked, I did have a meal at Aroma which I found to be delicious and reasonable. Overall, I highly recommend anyone visiting Shanghai, whether it is their first or return visit, to experience it while staying at the Hyatt on the Bund! I know I'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor and view room can't be beat for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    351
    85
    19
    19
See reviews for
114
189
90
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gardena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic hotel, modern, friendly staff, good price, terrific views on the water and skyline, zen like atmosphere in the room. One of the best hotel stays I ever had in my many years of travelling. Can really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Shanghai

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the river, it gives the stay something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for more than 20 stays - because my office is nearby.
I have to say that the quality is poor, especially at the Aroma. At the breakfast, there are only trainees, teenagers. Some tried, other just do what they can. I have so may times upset that now, I avoid to go to Aroma for the breakfast and just have a room service instead. The best place is the view from the roof bar. The chinese restaurant ground floor is over-priced. Also, after 2à stays, they still don't ever try to pretend that they remember me at the reception... The location is great, and maybe this is the reason the service becomes lousy ?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my third business trip to Shanghai and I have made many trips to other parts of China, and this is the best hotel I have stayed in China. The location was great, the wonderful bars and restaurants at the Bund were within walking distance from the hotel. The view of the Shanghai city skyline and river from the hotel room was spectacular. The service at the hotel was impeccable, and the bar and restaurant were of high standard. My stay was made delighfully pleasant by the attentive and fantastic service of the customer service manager Neil Li. If I return to Shanghai, I would certainly stay at the Hyatt at the Bund.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location in Shanghai for the view. You will face the Pearl Tower. The service is very good. The pool and spa are clean. And the Xindalu restaurant at the ground floor is a delicious chinese restaurant, with the best peking duck in town. Experiment also the Vue bar at night, top of the left tower, w/ a jacuzzi on the terrace.

Room Tip: The right Tower (when you face the reception) has a better view on the Pearl Tower. Try to get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We decided to spend Chinese New year in a hotel with a view and chose the Hyatt on the Bund as its location on the Bund seemed perfect!
We had booked a room on the 24 th Floor but being a family of five, they decided to upgrade us to a more spacious room!! and were therefore upgraded to a top floor executive suite! Wow!!
The suite was a small apartment with a kitchen and its appliances (expresso machine, huge fridge etc...).
Beautiful modern Bathroom with shower and bathtub with view on Shanghai :) which was very well kept and clean.
But best of all: THE VIEW!!THE VIEW!!THE VIEW!! a nearly 360° View!! AMAZING!! on the whole Bund and Shanghai!!
As it was Chinese new year, we got to see so many fireworks from our suite, it was just magical!
Will definitely relive this experience at the Hyatt on the Bund in coming years!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The last 4 weeks I have been traveling through Asia and on this trip I also had the chance to stay in Hyatt on the Bund. I booked a so called Club Room, what allowed me to excess the hotel's executive lounge. There I also had the possibility to have my breakfast and some delicious snacks in the evening. My room faced the pudong side, what offered probably the best skyline view of whole Shanghai. All in all my stay was, from check in until check out, a great and unforgettable experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#77 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#288 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.