We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt on the Bund to your Saves list
Hyatt on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pure Hypo-Allergenic Room
Ranked #80 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I travelled to China for business, but took the weekend to sightsee in Shanghai. This was a very nice, very clean hotel with great service at a reasonable price. The location was excellent...within walking distance of the bund. The Vue Bar must have the most fantastic view in all of Shanghai at night. Do not miss the opportunity to check out the view from the Vue!

Room Tip: The breakfast was good, but a little pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    374
    97
    24
    19
See reviews for
119
201
94
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I fly to Shanghai from Singapore once a month for 3/4 nights and I always stay at the Hyatt on the Bund. It's the perfect location if you need to stay around the Bund as it's a five minutes walk away so you get the benefits to stay on the Bund without the crowd around it.

Service and rooms are perfect as it is the breakfast, the SPA and the restaurants. I highly recommend it both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is of high standard. Good location. Superb view from rooms facing Pudong. Vue Bar on the 34th floor offers quite likely the best views of Shanghai. Well trained, polite and knowlegable english speaking staff.

Room Tip: Pudong / river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I travelled to several locations in Asia for our 20th anniversary. We stayed at the Hyatt on the Bund for 2 nights. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at during our trip. The location is excellent, with great views of the Bund and Pudong. The staff is extremely attentive, to the point of moving us to a bigger room with a 270-degree view of the surroundings, just because it was our anniversary day. The hotel has all the amenities one may need. The breakfast buffet is very complete and generous. The service is impeccable. I have only good things to say about this hotel and its staff, and will definitely stay here again if I ever return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My last stay in Shanghai was again at the Hyatt on the Bund as it is so conveniently located on the Bund exactly. The rooms have all wonderful views , the skybar is amazing and the swimming pool is really one that you can swim and do your daily laps in complete luxury ! Definitely one of my favourite hotels anywhere ! I'll be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You get a gorgeous view of Pudong AND the bund at the same time! I don't think it gets old.
The restaurant Xindalu on the main floor also serve great Chinese cuisine, their peking duck is very authentic, using open fire oven and oak trees. It's better than then pecking ducks I had in Beijing!
Only downside to the hotel is that it's a little out of the way from everything. While it provides a great view, there are no subways nearby and you have to cab everywhere. So its not convenient if you just want to walk around and explore Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Hyatt on business and returned for a further two nights. The service received was impeccable. Neil Li was very welcoming, also received a free room upgrade and vouchers for the Tea Room which were great. Will be returning to the Hyatt next time I am in Shanghai. Nothing but good reports for the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#74 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#243 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.