We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hyatt on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #102 of 3,790 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 and got 2 rooms interconnected. They were in the east tower with a great view of the bund.
What i liked the most about this hotel is that the staff at reception and concierge spoke very good English and they were always willing to help. The tours organised by the hotel are private and good,although expensive.
The spa was nice, especially the swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    316
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
105
166
84
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The standard rooms are larger than usual for 'standard rooms' and the same can be said about the bathroom. Nice big desk if you want to work and several comfortable chairs. The huge swimming pool and spa in the basement of the hotel was such much a relief after a long and warm day, and we went there most of the days during our stay.

Also the breakfast is worth a mention. As always breakfast at a hotel is way too expensive and this is also the case for Hyatt on the Bund. But I was very impressed by the size of the buffet and the quality. There was up to 10 cooks at different stations preparing your food fresh when you ordered it and the selection of food was mindblowing for a breakfast. No matter what country you are from, you will find something you will like at this buffet!

The bar at the roof also has a small pool, but it was too crowded in the evening for my taste. Expensive bar, but had one of the best views over shanghai. You can both sit inside or outside.

I managed to get a special deal since I stayed for 8 days, so it is is possible to haggle a better price over email. If I had not succeeded, the standard price would have been too high, and I would have found another hotel with similar quality for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I an writing this review almost two months after the stay. I think back to this stay often. The location, restaurants, room, service, were all excellent. I miss it. This location is a preferred hotel to our corporation and we enjoy complimentary breakfast buffethat a huge one it is too. But a word of advice, enjoy it while fresh. I once went to dinner late near closing and was disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great Hyatt service as ever. everything worked. Possibly the most comfortable dressing gowns I have ever worn. I will be buying one next trip (I had no room to get one this time). Not the first time I have stayed here, but just as good as ever. Just a step away from the river side, great to watch the river traffic in the early morning plying its trade up and down before heading out to the city.

Tremendous value and a better stay than its excellent, but somewhat other worldy Bladerunner cousin the Grand Hyatt across the river.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room at the end of the corridor to the left side of the hotel as it faces out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved this beautiful hotel. My executive room was incredible with views of Pudong and the Bund. The staff and services were exemplary and the overall vibe of the hotel was wonderful. Loved the location, slightly off the Bund so there were no crowds, yet close enough to easily walk to it. Had an issue with my reservation being "lost" when I checked in, the front desk manager did everything to make sure I was given a great room and apologized profusely for the error. (I had a written confirmation). Also, the ATM in the hotel ate my debit card and it was speedily recovered by hotel. Helpful concierge who assisted with my reservations for dinners and cars. The executive lounge offered drinks and hors d'oeuvres which doubled as dinner one night. Excellent quality food for breakfast and cocktail hour. I cannot say enough about this fabulous hotel, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get an executive floor room with a view, totally worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is very well located across the pearl tower. The view froom the room is great especially at night. you can relax at your bed with the night skyline of Bund lights.
The breakfast is great with vast variety of selections, Usually, finding good selection of western type of breakfast is a challnge but not for this hotel.
The room is very roomy, you can view the bund or pearl tower while sitting at the toilet :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We Stayed here in april 2012 and found the Hyatt very good,it was clean and modern, our room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable, great block out blinds and very quiet. The Hyatt has a roof top bar which is worth a look at night. The staff spoke english which in china is a must/blessing. The buffet breakfast was the best we have had anywhere, simply awesome, the choice was varied and everything was delicious, well maybe except for the pickled seaweed lol. The staff couldnt help you enough. The we had a dinner banquet in the resturant on the ground floor and this was also superb, the chefs at this hotel are world class. we had a flawless stay and highly recommend.
The bad.. location, its a fair way away for any sightseeing on foot and there isnt much access to outside foods nearby, not a family hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#90 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#331 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.