We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Pujian Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200127, China (World Expo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A good choice in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed at Sheraton Residences for three and a half weeks this December, got back home a couple days ago. This is my third visit to Shanghai, a first for more than a week.

There are really three hotels on the same property - Sheraton, Sheraton Residences and Four Points by Sheraton. The first two share a lobby, the third one is about fifty feet away.

Residences are different from the regular Sheraton in a few ways. The room is nicer - it is actually two rooms, with a kitchenette and a washing machine. The cleaning service is every other day instead of every day. The price my company paid was pretty low by Shanghai standards for hotels of that type. Not sure how much of that was a company-specific discount.

The breakfast service is excellent, plenty of choices from European to Japanese. The two restaurants, China Court and The Feast, are very good, if a bit expensive. The service was next to flawless overall. The staff does speak fairly decent English. The gym is the usual Sheraton style. There's a pool, a few treadmills, an elliptical, a stepper, some weight machines. I would say they could add a machine or two - a few times the gym got crowded, and this was off-season.

There are a couple of cash machines in the lobby. One is by HSBC, a major bank with links to Bank of America, so if you have a BofA account, you can withdraw money without paying banking fees. My bank charged $5.

Taxi to downtown is 20 to 30 Rmb. There's a subway station in front of the hotel. Shanghai subway is pretty nice, as long as you avoid the rush hour.

The building next to Sheraton Residences tower is a shopping mall. The shops are nothing to write home about - mostly Western brands at Western prices - but there are a few decent cheap restaurants in the basement, and a mini-market where you can get essentials.

I got a tour guide via the TripAdvisor, and I can't recommend the guide service highly enough, it is everything a guide service should be. Search for Ms. CuteMinMin, she has many posts on China-related fora. The guide was excellent - took me around Shanghai, to one of the water villages and to Suzhou (subject to a separate review).

Not-so-good parts..

The Four Points part is a bit of a letdown. The restaurant on the top floor, something-or-other-on-29, just plain sucks. The view is nice, the food is substandard. The sports bar isn't too bad when you can find the bar tender, but nothing exceptional. By and large, the Four Points isn't worth the 50 feet walk.

No wireless in the room. The room did have wired Internet, and I ended up setting my own wireless there. Downstairs has wireless, but it's slow and feeble.This being China, Youtube, Picasa, etc. are blocked.

The laundry service is fairly expensive.

Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay within the first ten floors. The elevator is kind of slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    249
    62
    14
    5
See reviews for
20
24
36
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights .the hotel as the title suggests very good in all respects and well situated but cabs are fairly cheap anyway so getting from point to point is easy and reasonable.Having said that we still used the subway system just to give it a try and that was also very good if not very crowded at most times.Shopping in shanghai is superb with many many shops doing copy items if you're inclined you can have a field day.with only 3 days we diddnt do much sightseeing but down by the yangtse in the centre of town is very impressive..Be sure to take the meglev train from the airport and then a cab to your hotel the train reaches a speed of 420+kl per hr and takes about 8 minutes from airport to the city station.Yuan gardens is a good place to visit with pleanty of cheap gifts on sale and many places to eat.I went with 4 lads (buddies) but I liked it so much I'm headed back in february with my grandaughter.

Room Tip: I was very happy with my room and it's not as though the hotel is on a beach so the views are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed w/my daughter in the Residences tower for a week and was very happy w/the facilities, location, fab breakfast buffet, and attentive service. Concierge staff was always responsive; suggested half- and whole-day tours were very good w/knowledgeable Guides; housekeeping, very accommodating (language barrier was no barrier). With a subway station across the street, getting to and from the hotel was a breeze. Enjoyed the beautiful pool and the well-equipped exercise room. High-rise shopping center next door also includes a great dumpling joint on the lower level, and several nice restaurant options.

Room Tip: Enjoyed being on the 21st floor on the 'bridge side' - wonderful exp. when all lit up. And g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

My suite is truly first class. Three rooms. Freestanding bath with great city view. Exec lounge accessxhelpful

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

rooms are huge, clean and outstanding views. the breakfast area seems to cover about and acre of space - every food you can think of.

Room Tip: been on many floors and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I had a great night sleep, clean and comfortable. We were on the 26th floor - good views of part of the city. We had dinner one of the nights in the restaurant - delicious meal, service good. Very convenient to the train station. Lovely big bathroom - with nice touches. Would I stay here again... absolutely!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a very clean property, located in a less convenient location in Pudong but immediately adjacent to the Tangqiao station on Line 4. Mattresses very comfortable. Since I was there for a meeting at the Shanghai Expo, it was a good business hotel. Ask about the upgrade to Club access at check in. Decent breakfast offered, heavy hors d'oeuvres and drinks in the late afternoon and conference room available for meetings. All in all a good experience but it depends on the objective for your visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences

Address: No.38 Pujian Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200127, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#83 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#286 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Pudong, metro station nearby and luxury hotel with 24h fitness center. Convenient location. In central Pudong business area, close to Int'l Exhibition Center,EXPO Center and Mercedes-Benz Arena. Easy access to places of interests both in Puxi and Pudong through Nanpu Bridge. Metro station is 1-min away. Dining and Leisure: Hotel features an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and a fully-service spa. Besides 2 restaurants and lobby lounge at Sheraton, guests could also sign bills at Four Points next door in restaurants and bar. Modern-equipped Guestroom: All spacious rooms are equipped with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Beds, 32-inch LCD TV, mini bar, direct-dial telephones with voicemail, Internet and safebox to have laptop. Bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai Hotel And Residences Pudong
Sheraton Shanghai Hotel Residences Pudong
Shanghai Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.