We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but Wifi will cost you! Time to change this policy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1928 Gonghexin Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200072, China (Life Hub DANING)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 327 Reviews
Sanford, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but Wifi will cost you! Time to change this policy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Here is an excellent hotel in terms of location, cleanliness, etc., as you would expect from a Sheraton. But internet--cable or wifi--in your room will cost sixteen cents a minute! So you have to sit in the lobby to use your internet device rather than in the privacy and comfort of your room. I realize that many such "5 star" hotels see customers' use of the internet as a profit center. They need to enter the 21st century and realize that internet usage is not just for businessmen they can rip off. I will certainly avoid any Sheraton in the future until this policy changes. Medium priced hotels worldwide offer free internet in the room, as I know from recent travel in Europe and Asia. Why can't the so called 5 star hotels see free internet as a selling point?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear DLEWIS1,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

Actually, we have room package promotions which includes wifi, or breakfast or dinner time to time on our Four Point Daning website, you can access to choose the best fit u or if any request, you can call our reservation department for further information.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    172
    40
    11
    1
See reviews for
15
18
20
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been using this hotel for about 6 years. I really like the location as the surrounding area is full of restaurants and shops. Metro is about 5-6 min walk away. Rooms are spacious, decoration is good. Staff speaks English. Staff is helpful, however earlier I felt them more eager to help you for example to get a taxi. Nowadays they have more Asian customers as before, maybe that causes the less interest in European ones. Still I like to stay here. Gym is spacious, could have a bit more equipment, but still quite good compare to the average. Swimming pool is also nice size. It has also sauna and steam bath. Breakfast has a good selection on intercontinental food as well as very local.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear MR_A_BP,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege to learn that our hotel, in some ways, made your stay comfortable. However, i am most concerned to learn that our service has not lifted up to your expectation at your recently stay. Please be rest sure i have shared your comments especial regarding to service, to our team and we understand the importance of genuine care to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Four point is a good hotel to stay in Shanghai; It's placed in a great building together with various restaurants and shops (reachable by an escalator). Also the neighborhood is lively and full of shops, stores and restaurants of all kinds.

Hotel's staff is kind, breakfast buffet is huge (and food quality is good), bedrooms are confortable and bathroom is big enought (even if i dislike the bathtube/shower combo). This is exactly what i expect in a four star hotel and I had it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear bigio75,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable stay at our hotel and that we contributed, in some small way, to making your experience with us an enriching and distinctive one.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

the main entrance of the hotel was kind of hard for the taxi driver to get to. I pre-booked my hotel room 2 weeks ago but yet when i checked in was told the type of room i wanted was not available. Not exactly disappointed with the change but disappointed that the hotel doesn't care about its customers, especially those who already booked and put in their preference weeks ago. Weather was hot in Shanghai but the hotel room hallway was very warm. Went for lunch at restaurant downstairs, doors were open but i had to walk in to ask if the restaurant is open. Server was reading newspaper inside and explain they don't have full strength as I went in during their break hours but that they have a skeleton staff cooking and serving. Only saw 1 waiter/waitress the whole time and I was the only customer.

Bed was cozy and comfortable. Breakfast doesn't start till 630 am but when I get there, there were already many customers. Only 1 server who had to be all over the place and the manager were more concerned with the serving eggs/omelettes to the customers than helping the poor server. The full serving crew did not turn up till about 7 am and by then I was on my way out as I wanted to have noodles but there were no staff at the serving station and later 1 more cook joined the other cook at the egg station. Coffee was not serve till I was finished with my breakfast even though I requested for it earlier. Checkout was so not 4 or 5 stars standard, after asking for your room number and ask if you use their minibar (which I never use and never bother to find out where it is), the guy at the checkout counter will shout your room number loudly into a walkie talkie to housekeeping to check your room. Even my local colleagues find that very low class.

can't comment much about the location except there is a mall opposite and good for those who wants to wander around at night. It was booked as my office was opposite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear axio99,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on Four Points Daning, which is a very detailed description we still need space to improve. Rest assure that we will share your comments during our operation meeting and this will be the mateiral for us during next training.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location: about 10 minutes walk from YanChangLu Station on Subway Line 1. If you plan on taking the subway, beware of the peak hours as many people travel on Subway Line 1 to get in, out and around Shanghai. It will be packed. China packed.

Surrounding: the hotel is located in a shopping, eatery hub build for Daning. You will see many younger generation Chinese coming to this place as it's inside the Daning neighbourhood. You have Starbucks, Lugos (which i think serves better coffee), KFC, Dairy Queen, Burger King, Pizza Hut...etc. There is also plenty of local eateries, too. Dining is non-issue. Huge grocery store right next to the hotel as well.

Service: not your usual Sheraton, nor Four Points standard. I truly wonder if this hotel is still under Sheraton management. Don't get me wrong - the staffs are professional and will get the job done...but you probably don't want to expect more than what's on their job description.

Facility: Dated but reasonably well maintained.

I first came to this hotel two years ago. It was then a good find - reasonable pricing and friendly staffs. I think the hotel room could use more cleaning - especially the bathroom stains (I stayed in Room 1001.) The price of the room hasn't changed much but I felt I got less for the same bucks compared to two years ago. For that kind of money, I would rather find a location much closer to town.

I would recommend this place for someone who doesn't need to get in and out of Shanghai city centre. If you are a tourist, I think you can find more value for the money should you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Po-hk,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on Four Points Daning, which is a very detailed description on our advantage and points we still need space to improve. Rest assure that we will share your comments during our operation meeting and this will be the mateiral for us during next training.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The arrival experience at check in was instant and very sharp. The place is huge, clean and rather majestic with a twist of modern times. My window views were very colourful and my bed super confortable. I tried the Hotel's bar and also had breakfast, lunch and dinner in their restaurant. The entire experience was flawless and there is so much to do just by walking out their front door. I found the staff to be very helpful and if you happen to be at the lobby, keep an eye out for the Lady in black - she is the GM and sharp as nails when it comes to customer focus and attention to 360 degrees of this fabulous environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Constanzo 1968,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable stay at our hotel and that we contributed, in some small way, to making your experience with us an enriching and distinctive one.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip . It's a little way out if the centre. So if you have to get into the centre during rush hour and you value your personal space , you may want to look elsewhere , BUT, the hotel is great, and has a lovely shopping and restaurant plaza immediately outside the hotel front door . Hotel is very well appointed. I expected less ! Mike on the concierge desk is the best on the planet . Helped me out a bunch of times . Would definitely stay here again, depending on nature of my trip. Suggest avoiding taxi into centre, the traffic was bad for 20 hours a day .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsDaning, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Dee Tee3333,

Greetings from Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning.

Thank you for valuable feedback and taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable stay at our hotel and that we contributed, in some small way, to making your experience with us an enriching and distinctive one.

Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we able to maintain on our service standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth hospitality of Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Daning for another exceptional experience.

With best regards,
Yvonne Wan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning

Address: No.1928 Gonghexin Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200072, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Life Hub DANING
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#216 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Shanghai Daning
Four Points By Sheraton Shanghai Daning Hotel Shanghai
Four Points Shanghai Daning
Shanghai Sheraton
Shanghai Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.