We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place despite the drawbacks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) to your Saves list
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Donghu Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200431, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 203 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful place despite the drawbacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was accommodated here by the institution I was visiting. My stay turned out to be very pleasurable, thanks to the superb location, the hotel's high standards, and the enjoyable breakfast buffet. My room was in the main building and was large and attractive, as were the old staircases with their dark panelling and the public sitting areas on each floor. Although the room furnishings were somewhat tired (the net curtains really should be replaced), everything worked well apart from the thermostat, which I never managed to control. Some of the staff were less than warm, but others were welcoming and friendly. The front of the hotel is beautifully landscaped, and the situation is excellent. So, all in all, this is a good place to stay with much more character than the innumerable hotels with glossy five stars.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the main building if you are able to; higher up is better because there is some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    105
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
7
36
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Donghu again after 4 years away.
Still a comfortable pleasant place to be.Staff are friendly and do their best to help.
Having said that ,we were disappointed with the restaurant .It was Chinese New Year and many places closed,so we did try the hotel restaurant for dinner.Many dishes off the menu,and breakfast staff were a bit grumpy.Perhaps because they would have liked to have been on holiday too.
But the hotel is central,not glitzy and we will be very happy to stay there again

Room Tip: 1505 or 1527
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I booked a single room in the main building of this hotel for a short weekend visit in Shanghai. The room was big and the bathroom is bigger than most European-style bathrooms. Great location in the French Concession neighborhood and near very good fusion-type restaurants. Very clean facilities and semi-friendly staff. The interior is a bit old and old-smelling, but the heating and cooling system is up-to-date. I felt cozy in the middle of winter.

There's no wi-fi though and that's a bummer for a business traveler like myself. But Shanghai has plenty of cafes and wine bars with wi-fi so it wasn't much of a hassle. Overall, a good hotel for the location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel has two buildings on opposite sides of the street about 100 m apart, the older building at no. 70 and the newer high-rise annex at no. 7. We stayed in the annex. The rooms were clean and adequately furnished, with two double beds, a desk, and a bathroom. They had wired internet jacks but no wifi. The staff were polite and spoke English, but there were no special services for tourists. We didn't try the hotel restaurant. There is a Brioche Doree cafe off the lobby, and a Wagas sandwich shop next door, both with free wifi. The surrounding area has many restaurants. The nearest subway station, South Shaanxi Rd, is a 5-10 min walk. 620 RMB without breakfast in Nov 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A client booked me into this hotel as it is near their office. Overall I would avoid this place unless you are on a budget or if you really need to stay in this area. I should qualify my comments as saying I stayed in the "annex" and not the main building. Others who stayed in the main building may have a different experience, which may explain some of the better reviews of this hotel.

1. Dark and dingy. The rooms are small and are worn. Carpets are stained, and even though I had a non-smoking room, smoke often entered my room from the guests either adjacent to me or below me. Bathroom is small yet functional.

2. Staff. The staff at the hotel is not very energetic or passionated about their jobs. I had trouble finding the free breakfast, (must be in the main building) and asked the staff, however, nobody seemed very interested in helping me. Most often it seems as if the staff is simply lingering around without much to do and they avoid making eye contact so they do not have to do anything.

3. Noise. I found my room to be bit noisy. Now, this is Shanghai, and many places are noisy, however, I am referring to other guests coming and going. The doors shut loudly, and the walls seem to be rather thin as I could hear the guests in the room adjacent to mine talking.

What did I like...

1. Good location. Center of the city and close to shopping. The hotel is short walk to line 1 of the Shanghai metro system.
2. Easy to find something to eat. It is easy to find something to eat here. A lot of restaurants nearby offering various cuisine.

Basically I would not stay at this hotel again, especially in the "annex". I cannot comment on the main building. If you are on business and are looking for a place to stay, spend a few more RMB and get yourself a decent place. I regret not pressing my client to put me in a better place, even if it meant a taxi ride to the office in the morning and back.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great location in the heart of the French concession. Booked a room with Booking.com and everything at check-in went very smooth. The room itself was clean, but a little bit on the small side. Staff was not mega friendly, though did what they were supposed to do.

The room had internet but it was cabled and not wireless (believe there was Wifi in the lobby). The connection was remarkably fast though for a Chinese connection.

Good thing about the hotel is that u can use the facilities of the other Donghu locations (business center, pool, sauna, gym). All were fine, but not extraordinary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed the night at the Donghu Hotel, before heading to Pu dong Airport to catch our flight back to England.
We booked a superior double room for 400 yuan which was OK for our needs we just wanted somewhere to sleep after a bit of sightseeing followed by a sample of what nightlife Shanghai had to offer!
The room was an adequate size, with en-suite facilities. As previous reviewers have noted the rooms are a little tired & could do with updating. The bed was comfortable and we had no disturbance from the road or other guests. We didn't eat in the but the food looked and smelt fine.
All in all for the price we paid the hotel was good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)

Address: No.70 Donghu Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200431, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donghu Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.