We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Century Grand Hotel to your Saves list
New Century Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1799 Renmin North Road, Songjiang District, Shanghai 200085, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 170 Reviews
Mel, VIC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

I stayed for twice, and 2 days each time. Tried normal and business room both. Feel very confutable but too far to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    102
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Very nice rooms and comfort
Arrived late at night and i got still a good service

Not keen on the food of breakfast but this is quite a general challenge in China for westerners. My chinese colleague though not that happy either on food
Nice lobby and new set up which makes it more modern than other hotels

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed in New Century Hotel from 7th to 14th April 2011 on a business trip ...Overall stay was ok but not Wow …The hotel was 10minutes by car from my meeting venues, so it's very convenient and it’s almost the only real positive point about the hotel location…In the evenings, there is absolutely nothing to do within the hotel area …The hotel is very far from Shanghai downtown and entertainement…(1 hour drive to reach Shanghai!!!!)

The food is disappointing: Breakfast is terrible (I only take coffee and ‘croissant’), Lunch & Dinner (No many choices of international cuisine, however you have many options within the hotel walking distance i.e. papa jones, starbucks, etc)

Hotel Facilities: Great Spa & Massage services, Good fitness & indoor pool, a Mediterranean restaurant but was going thru refurbishment during my stay…The other restaurants offer Chinese food, I didn’t experience them, but they looked ok

Concierge & Staff: very friendly & helpful …

Room: it’s comfortable and spacious…Internet is offered for free (cable)

Price: expensive bearing in mind you are 1 hour drive from Shanghai !!!!

I won't recommend this hotel unless for very short stay (2 nights max) ...There are many other 5* hotels at Shanghai Subs more convinent for business meeting in Songjiang and to enjoy Shanghai nightlife ...

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Booked a king bed via Agoda and New Century wanted to deliver a twin bed room. New Century stated that Deluxe Rooms don't have king beds. I had to locate the offer on my iPad and show them Agoda sold me a King Bed. New Century directed me to Agoda (what?) and Agoda never responded to sort the issue out themselves. They finally and reluctantly upgraded to the king bed room actually sold by Agoda - only after showing the image of the room I apparently booked. Shouldn't have to so that - very bung. Carpet was not great most things were good. Gym is excellent. Wireless in lobby only. Ip cable in room.

Room Tip: BEST TIP Record the room image you book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

stayed a couple of times in 2010 and will no doubt be back again, A nice hotel maybe a bit pricey if you don't get a discount. Nice shopping mall adjacent , plenty of restaurants, even a Chinese Tesco close by. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I stayed here for one night on a business trip in March. This was a beautiful hotel in the Songjiang district of Shanghai. Rooms were spacious, clean, and attractive. The breakfast buffet was fantastic – one of the best I’ve experienced in terms of quality and variety. I was a little surprised when asked if I wanted to sit in the smoking or non-smoking section since it’s been a few years since I last encountered that situation.

If you are doing business or visiting the Songjiang district, I highly recommend this hotel. If you want to play tourist in Shanghai, I would recommend staying in the Pudong or Puxi district as Songjiang is a rather long distance from most of the common sights (though metro line 9 is open now, which you can take into Pudong/Puxi).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stay at the Songjiang New Century Grand Hotel on my business trips to the Shanghai Songjiang area. It is a first-class hotel in all respects, with all the commensurate services. The buffer breakfast and dinner in the downstairs restaurant is very good. The fancy restaurants in the hotel are also very good. There is a very nice park across the street, nice for walking. The hotel is adjacent to a shopping center where you can get inexpensive food (noodle soup, snacks from a convenience store) and other items. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel

Address: No.1799 Renmin North Road, Songjiang District, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.