We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump. Stay away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Starway Chuangye Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Starway Chuangye Hotel to your Saves list
Starway Chuangye Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8, Lane 128, East Yan'an Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,360 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“This place is a dump. Stay away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I have travelled extensively in Asia so know what to expect . This place is awful. The staff are rude. The beds are hard as rock and the breakfast is inedible. They wouldn't even mind my bags for 2 hours. Find somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

The room was comfortable but as in my last review the room wreaked of nicotine and they also didn't provide bottled drinking water.

  • Liked — It's location near shopping malls and The Bund.
  • Disliked — Room wreaked of nicotine.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

My friends and I saw the hotel in the internet and booked online. We arrived at 12mn at Pudong Airport. We took the cab from there to the hotel which caused 200 yuan. The cab drivers had a hard time finding it. From the main street, you still need to go inside a small street to get to the hotel. The receptionists do not speak English at all. But they tried so much to communicate with us and to be as accommodating as possible despite the language barrier. We found the rooms very nice for the price we paid. (Hint: The room rates are cheaper if you book it online vs if you are a walk-in client.) It was quite cold though. I think there is no centralized heater and we were there in January. There were thick blankets but we found this out only the next day as it were kept in the cabinet and we did not check when we arrived. The location is very nice. You can walk to the Bund and Yu Yuan Gardens. Though it is quite difficult to get a cab to bring you to the hotel once you go farther (e.g. Oriental TV Tower, etc). Its also difficult to get a cab from your hotel to go to other places. We almost did not make it to our train ride to Beijing.

  • Liked — The location - it is walking distance to the Bund and Yu Yuan Gardens; Very affordable
  • Disliked — Difficult to take a cab to and from the hotel
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

This hotel is charming. The only problem was the bed was the hardest one we had on our whole trip. We got an extra comforter to help a little but it was sooo hard. The hotel does not have internet either. The staff were very friendly and the location cannot be beat. It is just off the Bund. We went for the deluxe room for $33 a night. This price for a hotel in Shanghai is amazing. We had foot massages every night for just over $5.00 and beers from the fridge in the lobby were 62 cents.

  • Liked — The location and the price
  • Disliked — The bed was rock hard
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a pad to sleep on and this is perfect for the budget minded traveler.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starway Chuangye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Chuangye Hotel

Address: No.8, Lane 128, East Yan'an Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,360 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Chuangye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Starway Chuangye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starway Chuangye Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.