We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impressions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF FOR 2 NIGHTS STAY
Ranked #90 of 3,925 Hotels in Shanghai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great first impressions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The company I am contracting for put me up here for my stay in Shanghai on business. Close to the metro system and a quick walk down to the huge skyscrapers of the city.

Great service, great rooms (I was in an Executive Suite) and the breakfast buffet is pretty vast and impressive.

Hoping to be staying here on my next visit to Shanghai!

Only bad points, it seems to be - the properties and bars behind appear to be all knocking shops!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mr. John FromDon,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I' am delighted that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay.
It is fantastic to know that we will see you again at your next visit to Shanghai.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    192
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
50
42
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Did stay for two nights on business trip in June 2014. Got a warm welcome, by a nice friendly staff, arriving after midnight, and got smiles from all members of the staff in both room service, staff at breakfast buffet and in reception area.

Room was clean, temperature at a comfortable level. Having a selection of more pillows to choose from is an extra plus!

Stayed for the 2nd time this year, and will for sure choose Eton for next business trips to Shanghai. And if i'll come for private holidays i'll choose the Eton, for sure.

Easy to access by both car and subway. Taxi ride to Puding Airport took me less than an hour on a friday morning. On a previous trip i took the subway to Maglev station, and the Maglev highspeed train to Pudong Airport. It took appr. the same time. Taxi ride from Shanghai Hongqiao airport took 45 minutes at around midnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mr.MOTODK,

Thank you very much for choosing the Eton Hotel again for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.I' am thrilled that you had an
excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities. Especially I have taking note of your comments concerning the Food& Beverage department. Thank you.

I' am looking forward to see you again in the future at our beautiful hotel.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have a very satisfied stay in Eton Hotel in Shanghai, I with my parent staied in Shanghai for 3 days, everything in Eton Hotel let me feel so wonderful. I like the rooms, I like the restaurants (Eton Cafe, E-bar and Executive Floor). And I the staffs in this Hotel, they all very helpful and friendly, like Adele, Steven, Emma and many other staffs. I will come back Shanghai for this hotel and also recommend to my friend who want come to Shanghai.

Room Tip: The room have very good view we can see Lujiazui beautiful lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ms.Cinderella_Yang,

Thank you very much to you and your parents for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking your time to comment us on Tripadvisor. I' am delighted that you and your parents had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
In particular your comments about our employees, I would like to let you know that we appreciate and value their performance in regards to customer service and looking forward to see them grow further within the company.

It is fantastic to know that we will see you again at your next visit in Shanghai.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room and amenities of the hotel were fine, but what compelled me to write a review was the outstanding personal touch by one of the Executive Chef's, Maria, who on two occasions went beyond the call to not only make sure I was served in the Eton Cafe after the buffet service had been taken down, but personally prepared a special meal for me on short order. I had originally come to Shanghai for a 3 day trip to manage a difficult situation which spiraled into a 15 day trip with little sleep and even less control over my schedule from hour to hour. In that moment, somehow, she was the one who just made everything right. She just made my problems go away. It's nice to be in a hotel that has your back when your own world may be a little crazy. That's what you can expect here, by my experience. The Eton has your back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms end in "15" and "18".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Jeff L,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and give some feedback particular about our Executive Chef Mariateresa Monaco. I' am very excited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes.
Sirko

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Eton Hotel provides anything you could expect from an upscale business hotel for reasonable prices. I have stayed here multiple times and had different rooms and types, but all the rooms are clean and taken care off. Most bathrooms have a glass wall to separate the bathroom from the bedroom and a tv for when you are relaxing in the bathtub. The swimming pool is very nice and so is the gym. The e-bar on the fourth floor is nice, but very quiet and the prices here are over the top. The steak restaurant has great steaks, but again prices are really high. The staff is always friendly and willing to help when traveling throughout Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Goetzed,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and have taking note of your comments concerning the Food & Beverage department. Thank you.
I' am excited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
We are looking forward to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The five star hotel is for people for it is really affordable. Many elements are good although it is not extremely luxury. Eton is also good for business activities and we often used. It is not far from the financial area so that many banks or companies like to use this hotel for business arrangement. Good value. It will not disappoint you if you choose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew X,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and give some feedback.
I ' am very exited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed two nights at this great hotel, it was a great experience. Was welcommed by friendly staff late at night, breakfast was good, a good mix of both asian and western type food. My room was nice and clean, bed and pillows good.

Highly recommendable, Will book again on my next Shanghai trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Morten T,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am
thrilled that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
It is fantastic to know that we will see you again at your next visit in Shanghai... I' am very excited thank you.
Also thank you for the "Perfect" much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#75 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#258 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.