We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Did stay for two nights on business trip in June 2014. Got a warm welcome, by a nice friendly staff, arriving after midnight, and got smiles from all members of the staff in both room service, staff at breakfast buffet and in reception area.

Room was clean, temperature at a comfortable level. Having a selection of more pillows to choose from is an extra plus!

Stayed for the 2nd time this year, and will for sure choose Eton for next business trips to Shanghai. And if i'll come for private holidays i'll choose the Eton, for sure.

Easy to access by both car and subway. Taxi ride to Puding Airport took me less than an hour on a friday morning. On a previous trip i took the subway to Maglev station, and the Maglev highspeed train to Pudong Airport. It took appr. the same time. Taxi ride from Shanghai Hongqiao airport took 45 minutes at around midnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mr.MOTODK,

Thank you very much for choosing the Eton Hotel again for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.I' am thrilled that you had an
excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities. Especially I have taking note of your comments concerning the Food& Beverage department. Thank you.

I' am looking forward to see you again in the future at our beautiful hotel.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
China, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have a very satisfied stay in Eton Hotel in Shanghai, I with my parent staied in Shanghai for 3 days, everything in Eton Hotel let me feel so wonderful. I like the rooms, I like the restaurants (Eton Cafe, E-bar and Executive Floor). And I the staffs in this Hotel, they all very helpful and friendly, like Adele, Steven, Emma and many other staffs. I will come back Shanghai for this hotel and also recommend to my friend who want come to Shanghai.

Room Tip: The room have very good view we can see Lujiazui beautiful lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinderella_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ms.Cinderella_Yang,

Thank you very much to you and your parents for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking your time to comment us on Tripadvisor. I' am delighted that you and your parents had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
In particular your comments about our employees, I would like to let you know that we appreciate and value their performance in regards to customer service and looking forward to see them grow further within the company.

It is fantastic to know that we will see you again at your next visit in Shanghai.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room and amenities of the hotel were fine, but what compelled me to write a review was the outstanding personal touch by one of the Executive Chef's, Maria, who on two occasions went beyond the call to not only make sure I was served in the Eton Cafe after the buffet service had been taken down, but personally prepared a special meal for me on short order. I had originally come to Shanghai for a 3 day trip to manage a difficult situation which spiraled into a 15 day trip with little sleep and even less control over my schedule from hour to hour. In that moment, somehow, she was the one who just made everything right. She just made my problems go away. It's nice to be in a hotel that has your back when your own world may be a little crazy. That's what you can expect here, by my experience. The Eton has your back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms end in "15" and "18".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Jeff L,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and give some feedback particular about our Executive Chef Mariateresa Monaco. I' am very excited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes.
Sirko

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Eton Hotel provides anything you could expect from an upscale business hotel for reasonable prices. I have stayed here multiple times and had different rooms and types, but all the rooms are clean and taken care off. Most bathrooms have a glass wall to separate the bathroom from the bedroom and a tv for when you are relaxing in the bathtub. The swimming pool is very nice and so is the gym. The e-bar on the fourth floor is nice, but very quiet and the prices here are over the top. The steak restaurant has great steaks, but again prices are really high. The staff is always friendly and willing to help when traveling throughout Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goetzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Goetzed,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and have taking note of your comments concerning the Food & Beverage department. Thank you.
I' am excited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
We are looking forward to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The five star hotel is for people for it is really affordable. Many elements are good although it is not extremely luxury. Eton is also good for business activities and we often used. It is not far from the financial area so that many banks or companies like to use this hotel for business arrangement. Good value. It will not disappoint you if you choose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew X,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and give some feedback.
I ' am very exited that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this great hotel, it was a great experience. Was welcommed by friendly staff late at night, breakfast was good, a good mix of both asian and western type food. My room was nice and clean, bed and pillows good.

Highly recommendable, Will book again on my next Shanghai trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Morten T,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai.
I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am
thrilled that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.
It is fantastic to know that we will see you again at your next visit in Shanghai... I' am very excited thank you.
Also thank you for the "Perfect" much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you want a affordable hotel close to Pudong, choose Eton. The rooms are spacious and clean. And I love to sit in the bath tub after a long day of work and look at the view. Great service and good breakfast.
ask for a room in the upper floors for a great view!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaKaarinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirkoOtto, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear HannaKaarinaH,

Thank you for choosing the Eton Hotel Shanghai.
I really appreciate you have taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
I' am really happy that you had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed our overall service and facilities...I' am honored, thank you.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Eton Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes.

Sirko Otto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
#82 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#15 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Shanghai Railway Station
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#90 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing