We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for both business and pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Family Fun Package
Ranked #76 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for both business and pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an absolutely excellent experience. We were taken care of even before we arrived. They made sure that our pick ups at the airport were confirmed and when we arrived, the check in process was friendly and expedient.

The rooms are vey well appointed with very nice bathrooms with separate a shower and bathtub. The beds are very comfortable and they supply you enough pillows. The selection of TV Channels is a little limited for an international traveler but the workout facilities and spa are make up for that. If your time allows you should spend some time in the gym and pool area to help reenergize yourself. With a twenty-five meter pool you can get in a very nice swim.

The restaurant selection is very good and I would definitely suggest making a stop at The Chicago Steak House. Not only is the food excellent but the service is attentive, efficient and very warm and inviting. We are very exciting to return and try the set menu the next time we are there.

The location is nice. You are very close to the river, so if you want to take a nice stroll, the river is only a short walk away from the hotel.

All in all, an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services. Your kind words and appreciation made will be shared among our team members.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation. We shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thanks for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    188
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
49
42
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Eton has excellent service, in my experience, and is a great weekend escape. The rooms are comfortable, have wonderful showers and tubs, and many have good views of the city or the Huangpu river. Their breakfast spread is plentiful and varied, and the executive floor lounge, should one stay there, is a very good deal: cocktails, hors d'oerves, desserts, and free coffee throughout the day. Room service is well-prepared and abundant. The swimming pool is large, relaxing, and often almost empty. Though slightly out of the way - not on line 2 - the Eton is right next to a subway stop - line 4 at Pudong Avenue.
The only draw back is that the in-house restaurants (other than the very good breakfast buffet) are pricey and hit or miss. But the service, the comfort, and the affordability, plus relatively easy access to the many offerings of Lujiazui with its shops and restaurans more than make-up for its few shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river, north, or west, have great water or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In my 30 years of business travel, I would say this was the smallest Hotel room (cell) I can ever remember having, The hotel is located in a somewhat dank neighborhood...nothing going on here...there is however a subway stop directly across the street.
Would not be my first choice on my next trip back....

Room Tip: I stayed at the Parkview Hotel in previous trips...nicer Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spending time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your feedback made on our products and services.
Your related feedback will be addressed to senior management for further improvement.
Thank you once again for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We appreciate very much your support and look forward to welcome you back again.
Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times at various trips to Shanghai. Rooms are spacious, modern furniture, good gym, bf contains everything I need and the metro is in walking distance.
And all at an unbeatable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changshu, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I want to take time out to thank Guest relation Manager Samantha and Front Desk Manager Mr. Mike as well as Mr Sirko and all of the staff who helped my wife with the injury to my daughter during my stay at the Eton. They supported my wife to the hospital and stayed with her until I could arrive. I want to thank General Manager Luc Bollen for your continued support and striving to make sure my stay is enjoyable. I have stayed many times at the Eton for business as well as pleasure and will say that I'm happy with every part of the hotel. I would suggest this hotel for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services. Your kind words and appreciation made will be shared among our team members.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation. We shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thanks for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the Pudong side of the river. Nice view to the high rises at night. Top notch amenities in room! TV above bath tub which is separated by glass wall from bedroom, separate shower, separate w.c. and mircrofridge with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. While there isn't much within immediate walking distance, it is a quick cab ride to the towers, oriental towers,malls,etc... Would definitely recommend to all looking for excellent quality/service without paying prices of those closer to waterfront (i.e. Ritz)

Room Tip: any with view towards Shanghai city center are great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Eton before and found it a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It's in Pudong and not near tourist attractions but being right across the road from a subway station - it's really easy to get around.

Unfortunately on my last stay, I got food poisoning at breakfast. I know it was the breakfast at the hotel because I didn't have dinner the night before and had nothing else until I started vomiting about 3-4 hours later. Throwing up on the plane from Shanghai to Hong Kong - not my finest hour.

Obviously this really shouldn't happen at an international standard hotel. However what is really annoying is that breakfast is not included in the booking and at around US$35, it's actually very pricey.

Add to that the fact that internet is only available in your room at extra cost and the thermostat on the air conditioning didn't work.

There are lots of choices in Shanghai - next time I will make a different one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and valuable time you took.

We are happy to learn that you had satisfactory stays in the past.
We are truly sorry to hear that you were not feeling well and endured a less than enjoyable flight to Hong Kong.

Food safety is of utmost importance to us and as such we have a fully equipped food safety laboratory at the hotel and a full time food hygiene doctor.

Following your comment our in depth investigation shows no other case during the period of your stay, albeit we serve several hundreds of meals daily at breakfast, nor any negative sample analysis.

Please rest assured that it is of utmost importance to our guests to ensure that the food served must be safe and prepared with the highest level of hygiene requirement. We have very strict guidelines and rules for our Food Preparation Teams.

As our guests have different needs and priorities, we do offer a variety of packages which offer a wide spectrum of options from “room only” to “inclusive deals” with breakfast and internet included, in addition to the free WIFI we offer in all our public areas. This allows our guest to tailor and budget their stay with us.

Thank you once again for providing this valuable feedback and we do hope you will visit us again, on which occasion we look forward to meet you in person.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#252 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.