We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for Money in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #66 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best value for Money in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times at various trips to Shanghai. Rooms are spacious, modern furniture, good gym, bf contains everything I need and the metro is in walking distance.
And all at an unbeatable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    190
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
50
42
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Changshu, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I want to take time out to thank Guest relation Manager Samantha and Front Desk Manager Mr. Mike as well as Mr Sirko and all of the staff who helped my wife with the injury to my daughter during my stay at the Eton. They supported my wife to the hospital and stayed with her until I could arrive. I want to thank General Manager Luc Bollen for your continued support and striving to make sure my stay is enjoyable. I have stayed many times at the Eton for business as well as pleasure and will say that I'm happy with every part of the hotel. I would suggest this hotel for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services. Your kind words and appreciation made will be shared among our team members.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation. We shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thanks for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the Pudong side of the river. Nice view to the high rises at night. Top notch amenities in room! TV above bath tub which is separated by glass wall from bedroom, separate shower, separate w.c. and mircrofridge with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. While there isn't much within immediate walking distance, it is a quick cab ride to the towers, oriental towers,malls,etc... Would definitely recommend to all looking for excellent quality/service without paying prices of those closer to waterfront (i.e. Ritz)

Room Tip: any with view towards Shanghai city center are great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Eton before and found it a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It's in Pudong and not near tourist attractions but being right across the road from a subway station - it's really easy to get around.

Unfortunately on my last stay, I got food poisoning at breakfast. I know it was the breakfast at the hotel because I didn't have dinner the night before and had nothing else until I started vomiting about 3-4 hours later. Throwing up on the plane from Shanghai to Hong Kong - not my finest hour.

Obviously this really shouldn't happen at an international standard hotel. However what is really annoying is that breakfast is not included in the booking and at around US$35, it's actually very pricey.

Add to that the fact that internet is only available in your room at extra cost and the thermostat on the air conditioning didn't work.

There are lots of choices in Shanghai - next time I will make a different one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and valuable time you took.

We are happy to learn that you had satisfactory stays in the past.
We are truly sorry to hear that you were not feeling well and endured a less than enjoyable flight to Hong Kong.

Food safety is of utmost importance to us and as such we have a fully equipped food safety laboratory at the hotel and a full time food hygiene doctor.

Following your comment our in depth investigation shows no other case during the period of your stay, albeit we serve several hundreds of meals daily at breakfast, nor any negative sample analysis.

Please rest assured that it is of utmost importance to our guests to ensure that the food served must be safe and prepared with the highest level of hygiene requirement. We have very strict guidelines and rules for our Food Preparation Teams.

As our guests have different needs and priorities, we do offer a variety of packages which offer a wide spectrum of options from “room only” to “inclusive deals” with breakfast and internet included, in addition to the free WIFI we offer in all our public areas. This allows our guest to tailor and budget their stay with us.

Thank you once again for providing this valuable feedback and we do hope you will visit us again, on which occasion we look forward to meet you in person.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Pudong, close to the river. It's not super close to the center and there aren't a lot of good dining options right next door, but you could walk to some if you want. When I visited, there was a doorman, "Ricky" who lived in the U.S. for a year and was super friendly. He was a hoot. The hotel has this incredible sculpture of running horses in the lobby. It's so good I thought it should be in a museum. One funny thing - in the lobby and hallways before you get to the room, the hotel plays this version of Muzak which is sort of a symphonized version of scores to American movies -- like Harry Potter and The Godfather. I got a kick out of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

If you need some information about dining options available nearby, you may check with our concierge staffs. They will be pleased to served you.

In addition to some dining option nearby, you are welcomed to try out our delights and delicacies served at hotel's restaurants, presented by our signature chefs. There are multiple cuisines choices such as Chinese, Continental and Southeast Asian cuisines available to cater our guests' needs.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having read previous "mixed" reviews of this hotel I checked in not sure what I was going to experience. I have to say that I found the staff for all depts excellent, I experience great service, a can do attitude and a willingness to help. This is a great business hotel which for the room cost provides excellent value for money and whilst there is not much to do around the hotel a short journey by metro or taxi will provide many choices!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a larger room which gives you great views and a huge bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai and thanks for providing us this valuable feedback. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terni
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel;
very good room, a nice wellness area;
the breakfast was reach but the taste of the sausages was hugly:
not easy to have served tea.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write for us on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation except the dining experience for our breakfast buffet. Rest assured your related comment will be brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager for further improvement.

Once again thanks for your valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#200 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.