We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch for Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Family Fun Package
Ranked #76 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch for Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the Pudong side of the river. Nice view to the high rises at night. Top notch amenities in room! TV above bath tub which is separated by glass wall from bedroom, separate shower, separate w.c. and mircrofridge with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. While there isn't much within immediate walking distance, it is a quick cab ride to the towers, oriental towers,malls,etc... Would definitely recommend to all looking for excellent quality/service without paying prices of those closer to waterfront (i.e. Ritz)

Room Tip: any with view towards Shanghai city center are great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    188
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
49
42
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Eton before and found it a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It's in Pudong and not near tourist attractions but being right across the road from a subway station - it's really easy to get around.

Unfortunately on my last stay, I got food poisoning at breakfast. I know it was the breakfast at the hotel because I didn't have dinner the night before and had nothing else until I started vomiting about 3-4 hours later. Throwing up on the plane from Shanghai to Hong Kong - not my finest hour.

Obviously this really shouldn't happen at an international standard hotel. However what is really annoying is that breakfast is not included in the booking and at around US$35, it's actually very pricey.

Add to that the fact that internet is only available in your room at extra cost and the thermostat on the air conditioning didn't work.

There are lots of choices in Shanghai - next time I will make a different one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and valuable time you took.

We are happy to learn that you had satisfactory stays in the past.
We are truly sorry to hear that you were not feeling well and endured a less than enjoyable flight to Hong Kong.

Food safety is of utmost importance to us and as such we have a fully equipped food safety laboratory at the hotel and a full time food hygiene doctor.

Following your comment our in depth investigation shows no other case during the period of your stay, albeit we serve several hundreds of meals daily at breakfast, nor any negative sample analysis.

Please rest assured that it is of utmost importance to our guests to ensure that the food served must be safe and prepared with the highest level of hygiene requirement. We have very strict guidelines and rules for our Food Preparation Teams.

As our guests have different needs and priorities, we do offer a variety of packages which offer a wide spectrum of options from “room only” to “inclusive deals” with breakfast and internet included, in addition to the free WIFI we offer in all our public areas. This allows our guest to tailor and budget their stay with us.

Thank you once again for providing this valuable feedback and we do hope you will visit us again, on which occasion we look forward to meet you in person.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Pudong, close to the river. It's not super close to the center and there aren't a lot of good dining options right next door, but you could walk to some if you want. When I visited, there was a doorman, "Ricky" who lived in the U.S. for a year and was super friendly. He was a hoot. The hotel has this incredible sculpture of running horses in the lobby. It's so good I thought it should be in a museum. One funny thing - in the lobby and hallways before you get to the room, the hotel plays this version of Muzak which is sort of a symphonized version of scores to American movies -- like Harry Potter and The Godfather. I got a kick out of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

If you need some information about dining options available nearby, you may check with our concierge staffs. They will be pleased to served you.

In addition to some dining option nearby, you are welcomed to try out our delights and delicacies served at hotel's restaurants, presented by our signature chefs. There are multiple cuisines choices such as Chinese, Continental and Southeast Asian cuisines available to cater our guests' needs.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having read previous "mixed" reviews of this hotel I checked in not sure what I was going to experience. I have to say that I found the staff for all depts excellent, I experience great service, a can do attitude and a willingness to help. This is a great business hotel which for the room cost provides excellent value for money and whilst there is not much to do around the hotel a short journey by metro or taxi will provide many choices!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a larger room which gives you great views and a huge bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai and thanks for providing us this valuable feedback. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terni
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel;
very good room, a nice wellness area;
the breakfast was reach but the taste of the sausages was hugly:
not easy to have served tea.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write for us on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation except the dining experience for our breakfast buffet. Rest assured your related comment will be brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager for further improvement.

Once again thanks for your valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was very nice - clean and modern. The front desk had staff who spoke English very well and were very professional. the rooms were nice (I was upgraded to a really, really nice one when I returned to Shanghai at the end of my travels in China). The breakfast choices were excellent! Lots to choose from and everything I had was excellent. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that you are pleased with the overall product & services.

Thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai and thanks for providing us this valuable feedback. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Eton is located in the Pudong New area, right in front of a subway station. The reception area is not surprising but staff is very helpful and rooms are excellent and very spacious! Price is very good compared to other Pudong hotels. Take time to have a nice breakfast - large variety of Western and Chinese foods. No doubt I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the side and back of hotel face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and the overall product & services had met your expectation.

Thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. Once again thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#252 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.