We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel / Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Eton Hotel to your Saves list
The Eton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 470 Reviews
Changshu, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel / Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Eton has shown that they know how to treat business travelers for short and long stays.
Michael Ow the General Manager has a great staff that go out of their way to make your stay very enjoyable. I would rate this hotel very high for everything from food to room rates and close to subway lines that can get you to any location in Shanghai. I have stayed at the Eton many times during my business here in Shanghai and have been always satisfied. I look forward to continue coming back and enjoy the great service that I have received, I want to especially thank Mr. Hua and Mr. Davy and Richard the Bellman for their continued support.

Room Tip: When making reservations, ask if they have rooms available with the view of the city, they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    195
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
52
42
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I found this an excellent location (metro is literally across the road) and walkable to the SHICC.

Rooms were good but on closer inspection there was a little (cosmetic) wear and tear that could do with a refresh.

Prices for facilities equivalent to other hotels, but room rates half those of hotels near the SHICC

Free wifi in lobby works well

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel is located close to the Pudong Business centre. The rooms are large, clean and a bath (with small lcd TV) is a nice touch.

Beds are comfortable, (King size) and give views over....basically office towers...Very convenient to Number 4 train line which is one stop away from the century park interchange for line 2 that gets you just about anywhere you need quickly and cheaply.

Restaurant on level 3 is 24 hour so nice touch if you are working / playing late.

English is widley spoken and there is an English guest services manager that makes sure everything ticks over well.

Room Tip: The exective room has a large square spa...ask for an upgrade and you may get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overall, the hotel is nice. While Eton is an international chain and the rooms are to western standards, it is run like a Chinese hotel (in regards to customer service)
Pros:
A lovely hotel
Our room was very comfortable
We enjoyed the restaurant
Free wi-fi in the lobby

Cons:
There isn't much to see in the area.
will not return due to its location.
We were on a nonsmoking floor, but that didn't stop people from smoking in the common area.
Upon check-in, they asked for an usually large deposit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The location is great for the combination of business in Pudong with easy access to Puxi sightseeing via subway or taxi. The pearl Tower and shopping mall are within walking distance. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are extremely helpful. My wife and I enjoyed the lobby bar before nad after our evening out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were in Shanghai from the 6th to the 8th of October 2011. We were on a leisure trip to China and Shanghai was our first stop. The hotel room though well furnished was a little cramped. An unnecessaru bath and separate shower enclosure made the bathroom big but ate away into the room space. The glass walls of the bath sort of make it uncomfortable if you have any kids staying with you so you will need to pull down the screen defeating the purpose. We had booked a taxi which we used for our entire stay so we did not find any issues with transport, but we did hear many people grumbling about connectivity. Breakfast included in the room tariff is excellent and service is courteous. Be prepared to pay at least 1000Yuan as room deposit at check-in despite pre-booking your room. Hotel is clean, well furnished, comfortable and certainly a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room and ensure you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Poor location requires a cab or long walk to get to main Pudong busines and shopping areas. The manager of restaurant practically tackled our 3 year old when he left carrying two croissants out, no food leave he curtly told us, give me a break. Charged 50 RMB for missing access card upon usual, 20 minute check out procedure (sending someone to inventory room before deciding you didnt try to make off with an ironing board). I understand customer service standards and customs are different in China, but will not be returning to Eaton Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#74 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#263 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Eton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.