We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartments in fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments

Save Saved
You added Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.506 Shang Cheng Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 3,559 hotels in Shanghai
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spacious apartments in fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'll start with the bad first. We had ordered their best room, the 3 bedroom apartment since we wanted to have our entire family in one apartment. I was really dismayed to arrive there and find that they didn't have this room available considering I ordered this 3 months prior and we were staying for almost 2 weeks. I was determined to give them a crap review, however the stay we had was good and we got two of their top floor apartments and some other compensations. Thanks to manager Nora He for working out an acceptable solution.
We used the gym some and it was actually quite good. The pool looked nice we just never got round to using it.
Breakfast was great and service was impeccable. Kudos to Jane Ying for her command of the breakfast lounge and for remembering a lot of details about us and the other residents including preferences for omelets, drinks etc.
Location is fantastic with line 9 just out the door and line 2 a few hundred meters walk. Shanghai World Financial Building and Oriental Pearl tv tower is within walking distance. Lots of restaurants and a 7 eleven and a family mart for buying water and other household items.
Some noise from the aircondition, but what can you expect with the heatwave in Shangai, up to 42 degrees Celsius in the shade.
We used the tvs a bit to watch some movies we bought but the quality of the tvs weren't the best. Looks like first generation LCD's with crappy black levels, but a minor thing.
We got some help from reception to book train tickets which worked out fine.
Service was overall good, but somewhat impersonal.
Stunning view from high floors.

I'd give it top marks, but Marriot will have to settle for second best considering I didn't get what I ordered.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view of the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
8
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here many times in the last year. Spacious, clean 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments wth all the amenities of home. The kitchen is the best equiped I have ever seen, fully stocked for the serious chef. This include baking utensils, bake and cook ware, measuring cups and measuring spoons, storage containers and a good size oven (rare in China) and large fridge. The apartment also has a separate washer and dryer. Daily cleaning service provided. I can not comment on the breakfast since I never tried it however the dining room looks clean and bright. There is a large pool on the 5th floor and is seldom busy so enjoy! Bathing caps are mandatory. Also on the 5th floor is a gym and outside area for lounging. Internet is one of the best I have had in China.
The lobby is well stocked with Tourist Brochures right by the front door. This includes subway maps in English.
The hotel is located on subway line 9 (right outside the front door). A 5 minute walk away is subway line 2. Subway line 2 will take you to the SWFT observation buidling (called the botte opener - currently the tallest building in Shanghai). This subway line will also bring you to the Super Brand Mall, the Pearl Tower and will take you to the other side of the river to famous shopping streets (Nanjing Road), Xintanzi, the Bund, People's Square.....).
As other reviewers mentioned the Marriott is surrounded by plenty of restaurants. In the Shinmay Mall (again just outside the front door) you will find the famous Japanese Chain Ajisan Noodles on the first floor, "Charme restaurant on the 3rd floor and Xiebie (famous Chinese chain specializing in Lamb - one of my favorite restaurants) In front of the Ajisan Noodles is a pedestrian walkway. Across the walkway is May Love Dim Sum - good Hong Kong food (no english spoken but menu has pictures). Turn right on the walkway and you will find a bakery, a Burger King and an entrance to yet another Mall which has a large Japanese Supermarket in the basement which carries organic produce, and big assortment of western products and dairy. Front desk staff speak good English. Excellent value if you are looking for 5 star accomodations in the Pudong Area.

Room Tip: There is presently construction across the street from the hotel (As is the case for most of China...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A really good value to experience privilege staying. Staff were all attendant and thoughtful, when we first arrived for check in, we were all served with fresh squeezed juice and lovely smiles. Internet was free for membership entitlement. Simply equipped all kinds of daily needs from laundry to cooking. No matter day n late night, always be greeted when enter hotel. Most surprisingly was that we found a cake when we got back from tour, turned out the staff had found a birthday card and then guessed we had a birthday boy, such a thoughtful move was overwhelming. I will definitely stick with this hotel whenever I come by with no doubt. Loyalty is guaranteed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

great location - walking distance to tons of eats, shopping mall, supermarket...subway station is right at the door of the hotel. Fully equipped kitchen, and all rooms are HUGE. Perfect for family traveling with kids. The only thing I can think of is the breakfast, they could use some upgrade in terms of the size, deco of the lounge and food selections. Would definitely come back and recommend to family with young children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good Part:

Excellent property with great rooms.
Excellent service and indoor swimming pool
Good for family stay by opting for 2 bed room apartment.
Clean and maintained
Central location.

Not so good part:

The breakfast menu is not very exhaustive

Room Tip: opt for Higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can only add what many people have written about this facility. It is simply for every needs. I was upgraded to a 2-bedroom-suite and had so much space like at home. The kitchen is fully equipped, every room clean and everything at the place where you expect them to be, gym also ok. The breakfast at the lounge is ok but not like a full hotel breakfast buffet.

The location is also very good with the subway really just at the hotel door and many shops and convenient store around the corner.

The limousine car from the hotel was a bit expensive but everything else was huge value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Exec appartments end of february 2013. Great appartements, very spacious, clean, good set up and a fully equiped kitchen. Close to major shopping area, subway right at the door and all that for only $200 per night which is a great price for Shanghai Pudong. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: high room will be granted with a spectaculair view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A W, Public Relations Manager at Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Union Square, Shanghai Pudong -Marriott Executive Apartment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments

Also Known As:
Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments Hotel
Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Marriott Executive Apartments Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Address: No.506 Shang Cheng Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#344 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Square Shanghai Marriott Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.